Don't have a Xilinx account yet?

  • Choose to receive important news and product information
  • Gain access to special content
  • Personalize your web experience on Xilinx.com

Create Account

Username

Password

Forgot your password?
XClose Panel
Xilinx Home
Reply
Regular Contributor
dag1
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎12-08-2007
0
Accepted Solution

Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it

I am trying to use the ATLYS (Sp6) board.

I am succesfull in accessing it via the Digilent Adept application.

But once I try to use it form the ISE the cable not recognized.

 

I attach a description of the problem.

 

Any advice ?

 

thanks

Dag

Expert Contributor
joelby
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎10-05-2010
0

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it

According to the Digilent setup guide, the 'digilent_plugin' doesn't automatically appear in the list under iMPACT, Output, Cable Setup. Cable Plug-in. You have to type it in manually. Please give that a go!

Regular Contributor
dag1
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎12-08-2007
0

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

 

Here is an update: I succeeded to install the board on Windows XP.

 

Now I am trying to make it work on Linux, Ubuntu 11.04
Linux  2.6.38-10-generic #46-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jun 28 15:05:41 UTC 2011 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

on which I have intalled Xilinx Design Suite 13.1.

I did the following:

1. Extract Digilent.zip file into <Xilinx_13_1_install_Dir>\ISE_

DS\EDK\board folder.
which contains the

/opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/EDK/board/Digilent/ipxact/Digilent_Atlys/data

2. copied The Plug-in files “libCseDigilent.so” and “libCseDigilent.xml”
into folder:

 /opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/ISE/lib/lin/plugins/Digilent
3. Installed the Adept System on Ubuntu:
 by running the install.sh
I guess it is working since I did not receive any errors while installing and when I do lsusb I see

Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 003: ID 046d:c31d Logitech, Inc.
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 046d:c05a Logitech, Inc. Optical Mouse M90
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 005: ID 04e2:1410 Exar Corp.
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 006: ID 1443:0007 Digilent CoolRunner-II CPLD Starter Kit
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bc2:2100 Seagate RSS LLC
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
4. in iMPACT I do cable setup:

I type: digilent_plugin

but I still get the mesage:

ERROR:iMPACT - Could not open plug-in of the type: digilent_plugin. Please check to make sure the correct plug-in for this type is properly installed.
The following targetNames are available:
  xilinx_svffile (libCseSvfFilePlugin)
  auto (libCseXilCommPlugin)
  xilinx_parallel (libCseXilCommPlugin)
  xilinx_platformusb (libCseXilCommPlugin)
  xilinx_file (libCseXilCommPlugin)
  xilinx_xvc (libCseXvcPlugin)

Any advise ?
thanks
Dag
Regular Contributor
dag1
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎12-08-2007
0

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

I found the problem:

 

one needs to create another folder and place the files

 

libCseDigilent.so

libCseDigilent.xml

 

under it

/opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/ISE/lib/lin/plugins/Digilent/libCseDigilent/

 

My mistake was that I placed the files under

 

/opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/ISE/lib/lin/plugins/Digilent/

 

 

I now have the Atlys board connected to the ISE (iMPACT) on Ubuntu 11.10

 

Dag

Newbie
bobda
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
0

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

Where did you get the plugins directory under Xilinx/ISE/bin/lin ? my installation doesn't sho anything like that.

I have the digilent directory but not the plugins

 

 

Thanks

C

Regular Contributor
dag1
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎12-08-2007
0

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

Just create it yourself