Create Account

Username

Password

Forgot your password?
XClose Panel
Xilinx Home
oppie

5V tolerant I/O?

I'm new to Xilinx and could use some recommendations please.

Are there any current CPLD devices (recommended for new design) that have 5V tolerant I/O?

Looking to replace an Atmel ATF1508AS (128 macrocell) device that is getting hard to find. Have been getting that device in a PLCC84 pkg so it can be socketed.

Expert Contributor
gszakacs

Re: 5V tolerant I/O?

The XC9500 series is a true 5V part and has a 108-macrocell version in the PLCC84

package.  I'm not sure if these will go away soon, but they still show up as stock

items on DigiKey.

The 3.3V XC9500XL series is getting old, but still very much in use.  It can handle 5V on

its pins. 

The CoolRunner II series is not 5V tolerant.

Also at the moment you can still get Spartan 2 FPGA's that are 5V tolerant (not the 2e),

but I believe this will not be available in the long term.  Overall 5V tolerance is harder

to find, and eventually will go away altogether.  There are quite a few appnotes on

interfacing 5V logic to non-5V-tolerant parts.

-- Gabor

-- Gabor
oppie

Looks like 5V compliant is not going to be around long term....

Part was originally chosen as an I/O buffer with options, going off-board to a 5V world. Socketed, so it could be replaced easily if damaged.

I'm going to lobby our chief designer to use one of the newer 3.3V I/O devices and use simple level shifting buffers to the outside world. I can probably sell it alone on the fact that the lower voltage devices use less silicon real estate and thus cost less.

Cheers

Expert Contributor
gszakacs

Yes.  Large socketable parts are on the way out also.  At least for embedded systems

the big push is to get more functionality in a smaller footprint.  Also note that large

non-BGA packages can have very large lead inductance which is not good for high-

speed logic.  So even big square packages like PQFP's are on the way out.  In any