Password

Forgot your password?
XClose Panel
Xilinx Home
panurdha

converting floating point values to fixed point

hello there,

i am new to XILINX.

I am trying to implement Discrete Wavelete Transform using VHDL with ISE 9.2.

Here i need to use floating point values. i have gone through the link

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/5366.htm

the artical is

Description

Keywords: CORE Generator, CORE Generator, coef, COE, FIR, PSA, SDA, fixed point, floating point, normalize, filter

When a FIR filter is designed, the coefficient values are typically given in floating-point format. However, the Xilinx Distributed Arithmetic FIR (DA FIR), Multiply Accumulate FIR (MAC FIR) filter cores can accept only fixed-point coefficient values. Floating-point coefficient values must be normalized to fixed-point values before they can be used with Xilinx FIR filter cores. How are these values converted?

NOTE: The FIR Compiler Core can accept Floating-point coefficients, and will perform  the following conversion automatically, based on the coefficient bit width.

Solution

The conversion process outlined below expects floating-point format coefficient values with a maximum value of less than "1". These are converted to signed integers in "2's" complement format.

For example:
Coefficients are 0.0174, -0.0123, 0.127, -0.0123, 0.0174

1. The first step in converting the coefficients is to determine the number of bits needed to represent the coefficients (N). Typically, this is a system-level decision and is a factor of the required Dynamic Range of the filter and the implementation costs associated with the filter. This value provides the maximum and minimum possible values for the coefficients by calculating the following equation:

Maximum value = 2^(N-1)-1
Minimum value = -2^(N-1)

NOTE: The N-1 is used because the coefficients are "2's" complement.

For example:
For 10 bits, the maximum value is 511 and the minimum value is -512.