Password

Forgot your password?
XClose Panel
Xilinx Home
Super Contributor
gh43m

The best VHDL book ever read

Dear friends,

Please tell me what's the best VHDL book you've ever read and why is that the best??

Thanks.

Expert Contributor
bassman59

Re: The best VHDL book ever read

gh43m wrote:

Dear friends,

Please tell me what's the best VHDL book you've ever read and why is that the best??

Thanks.

It should come as no surprise to the regulars here that I like Peter Ashenden's book Designer's Guide To VHDL.

Of course there are others.

----------------------------------------------------------------
Yes, I do this for a living.
Xilinx Employee
scampbell

I think this depends on what you are trying to accomplish with the book. Are you learning digital design using VHDL? Or, do you know digital design but need to understand how to accomplish that design with VHDL?

If you are learning digital design along with VHDL, then I think this book is good as it provides many examples of how to write common digital design constructs such as memories, arithmetic, logic ... The device is a bit old in terms of Xilinx products, but the fundamentals are the same, and device independent. I believe there is a verilog version as well.

http://www.amazon.com/FPGA-Prototyping-VHDL-Examples-Spartan-3/dp/0470185317/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1350924582&sr=1-3&keywords=vhdl

If you already know digital design, then I think a reference book is appropriate, and the one Bassman recommends is the best in my opinion as well.

OK, hope this helps,

Scott

Expert Contributor
rcingham

bassman59 wrote:

gh43m wrote:

Dear friends,

Thanks.

It should come as no surprise to the regulars here that I like Peter Ashenden's book Designer's Guide To VHDL.

Of course there are others.

I concur.

But I don't know what would be best for someone trying to learn VHDL and digital design at the same time. I learnt VHDL after I was well practised in digital design.