Create Account

Username

Password

Forgot your password?
XClose Panel
Xilinx Home
Visitor
sm1109

Problems in simulation (Top level file for PIO design)

Hi all,

I am using ModelSim to simulate the PIO design. I made a new project in ISe and chose the default simulator as ModelSim. I added all.v files to this project and did a Behavioral Simulation. The ModelSim window opened up and after adding all signals to waveform, I could not see any of the TRN interface signals. Instead, the clk_generator verilog file is coming up as the top level file and the signals in the waveform are some clock related signals. I want to be able to see the TRN interface signals. But I cannot see them in the simulation.

Can someone explain how they simulated this design. I am kind of new to this core and ModelSim.

Let me know.

Thanks. 

Xilinx Employee
kylocke18

Re: Problems in simulation (Top level file for PIO design)

Hello,

I'm assuming you're using the PCIe Block Plus core for this:

First thing's first, make sure the endpoint (EP) files are set up correctly.  This is described for the Block Plus core in the Getting Started Guide (GSG343), page 21.  Set the "xilinx_pci_exp_ep" file as the top level if this is not done automatically.

Now for the PIO simulation.  The easiest way is to just open ModelSim separately and then run the "simulate_mti.do" file located in the "<core_name>\simulation\functional" folder. 

But if you do want to do it all through the ISE GUI, you will need to take a look at the "board_rtl_x04.f" and "xilinx_pci_exp_cor_ep.f" files and make sure you add all Verilog files listed there into your project.  Note that in the "board_rtl_x04.f" file, it performs a +incdir+ operation for the "tests" folder and the "dsport" folder.  So for your ISE project, you will need to add the source files from those folders as well (unless they are otherwise listed in the .f files and you already added them).