Username

Password

Forgot your password?
XClose Panel
Xilinx Home
Regular Visitor
dslaman

Interfacing VHDL code to picoblaze, display on spartan 3e lcd display

OK, I've been working on a simple project (simple until now) where I want to use the spartan 3e board to take temerature data from a digital thermometer hooked into the board.  My goal is to display the data on the LCD screen of the spartan board.  So far, I found a verilog written top module which I've modified to use picoblaze and display words that I coded directly into the software.psm file.  Sooo....that thing works, but I've hard coded what to send to the lcd display directly into the software.psm file.  The data being send from the digitial thermometer is an 8 bit word....so, any ideas how to feed this 8-bit word into the picoblaze processor?  It really has me confused.  Any ideas on where to start would be appreciated.

BTW, this picoblaze thing is really, really, really cool!  I'm by no means an expert with this stuff (I'm an electromagnetics guy), but this stuff is a real lot of fun to mess with.  Thanks for any help offered.

Regular Visitor
dslaman

Re: Interfacing VHDL code to picoblaze, display on spartan 3e lcd display

I'm replying to my own message, but I'm OK with that. I found Ken Chapmans pdf document explaining this process.  It sucks, because the problem I'm trying to work out is something he says, "Exercise – Implement a hardware based state machine which obeys the timing requirements for an 8-bit write of data including the 40μs delay. Modify the

PicoBlaze interface and code to use your hardware circuit to write to the display. Under what circumstances would this approach be useful?"

That's funny, I can tell you right now that it would be useful because then I could move forward with what I'm trying to accomplish...just kidding around here.  The document kind of answers my question, so I'll try to hack my way through this.

prakash_0804