UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor syssurge
Visitor

New dev board not detected by Hardware Manager (USB)

Jump to solution

I'm new to FPGA development, and have just bough a Kintex-7 XC7K420T dev board that is not detected by the Hardware Manager for some reason.

The board is AC powered and connected to my host Ubuntu using a USB 2.0 mini cable and USB to TTL that's on the FPGA board. I downloaded the latest version of Vivado Design Edition and installed with the Kintex devices selected in the installer. I started the license manager and selected the 30-day trial of Vivado Design Editon, and loaded the license file. I then downloaded and installed the SDK. I downloaded and installed Vivado Hardware Server using xsetup and made sure that Kintex 7 devices were selected, installer said that "addidtional libraries would have to be installed" though. Then I ran install_drivers, setup-boot-loader.sh, setupEnv.sh. Then rebooted. After reboot I ran lsusb which shows the following information about my FPGA over USB to TTL device:

$ sudo lsusb -vd 1a86:7523
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 1a86:7523 QinHeng Electronics HL-340 USB-Serial adapter
Device Descriptor:
  bLength                18
  bDescriptorType         1
  bcdUSB               1.10
  bDeviceClass          255 Vendor Specific Class
  bDeviceSubClass         0 
  bDeviceProtocol         0 
  bMaxPacketSize0         8
  idVendor           0x1a86 QinHeng Electronics
  idProduct          0x7523 HL-340 USB-Serial adapter
  bcdDevice            2.54
  iManufacturer           0 
  iProduct                2 USB2.0-Serial
  iSerial                 0 
  bNumConfigurations      1
  Configuration Descriptor: