Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Updatemem and MMI firmware merge issue

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am upgrading my FPGA system from Virtex-6 to Kintex Ultrascale and I am new to the Vivado way of doing things.

We do not use a Microblaze processor, but a custom RISC-V processor. We have a ROM initialization from Block memory generator and it has been initialized with a COE file. I verified that the processor was able to execute from the ROM. But when I do an updatemem with the resources from this AR: http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/63041.html, the MCU could not start execution. I believe the merge was not successful.

My memory is a 32kx32 (32 width and 32768 depth, Write first) SPROM created with block mem gen. The algorithm is Fixed Primitives and it is with 4kx4 primitives.  I am attaching my MMI file and UCF File (file format changed for easier upload) for the memory placement here. 

Does the order matter on how the Bus Block or Bit Lane are ordered? How should I find the order for it?

Please let me know if anyother stuff would be useful to help me better.

Regards,
Sundar

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Re: Updatemem and MMI firmware merge issue

Jump to solution

Hi Stephen,

I did some more testing with the debug option you provided:

exec updatemem -debug -force --meminfo stingray.mmi --data bootloader.mem --bit stingray.bit --proc e21_core --out stingray_merged.bit > bump.txt

I was able to change my MMI accordingly to make it work. Thanks for your help.

I think the Endianness specified in the MMI file does not work. This might need some addressing from Xilinx.

Thanks,
Sundar

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
18 Replies
Highlighted

Jump to solution
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Jump to solution

Hi Stephen,

I have went through the wiki already.