Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dlui
Observer
Observer

Hilbert Transforms in FIR Compiler

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am new to using the ISE design suite and I was wondering how I can use the FIR Compiler in the Core Generator to apply Hilbert Transforms. I am using the ISE Design Suite 12.1: DSP Edition and FIR Compiler v5.0.

Looking through the FIR compiler documentation, it seems that I should be able to set the Hilbert Transform in the Coefficient Structure, however I can't see it. Is this option not availble in this version of the FIR Compiler? Or is there something I'm missing?

Also, adding this transform can be done by adding it as a "new source"? Is that correct? Does this mean that the filter will be applied to the board at all times?

Thanks in advance for the help!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
eschei
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi David,

In this case, there is a requirement by the FIR Compiler that the end coefficients are not zero. There is an explanation for this on page40 of the datasheet. You can remove the first and last zero coefficients which do not contribute to the result. I tested this out and it seems to work fine.

Cheers,

Elliot

View solution in original post

6 Replies
eschei
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi,

When you open the FIR Compiler Coregen GUI, the Hilbert Transform can be selected in the Coefficient Structure pull-down menu under the implementation tab. In order for this function to be used, the Coefficients must correspond to a Hilbert filter.The coefficients are typically generated outside of Coregen, then imported as a .COE file.

For example, you can use the Matlab fdesign.hilbert function to create your coefficients, then create a .COE file that contains these coefficients and use this COE file with the FIR Compiler.