UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Participant sagar_kirtany
Participant

Need ideas for the design of a matrix pseudo-inverse block

Hello,

I am a newbie. I enter my designs using Verilog HDL, use ISE 12.4 for synthesis and implementation, and am targeting a Virtex-6 FPGA.

I am looking to design a block which can calculate the pseudo-inverse of a given matrix. Because of a lack of time, I do not wish to code this design on my own (and it's a big design). I was wondering if any of you folks are aware of alternative ways to do this (e.g., IP, open cores, etc.). If you are, kindly share your ideas with me here.

I appreciate your help.

Thanks and Regards,

Sagar

0 Kudos
13 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: Need ideas for the design of a matrix pseudo-inverse block

I'm not aware of any IP that does this. I would write the code and use the SDK tool with microblaze and get it on a development board

regards

Mike

0 Kudos
Scholar markcurry
Scholar

Sagar,

Details?

How big of a matrix?

Fixed point or Floating point?

How many bits?

Where's the matrix stored? (Block Ram, FFs, other (offchip?))

Where will the results be stored?

What are the latency requirements?

What are the bandwidth requirements?  (i.e. how often would you need to

calculate a new inverse).

Clock speeds?

Is there a CPU available to do some of the work?

0 Kudos
Participant

Hello,

I am trying to map a software implementation that uses the matrix pseudo-inversion into hardware. Over the past few days, I have learnt the hard way that some things are simply too complicated to be dealt with in hardware, and I believe this is one of them.