cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer
Observer

Pulse generator with programmable duty cycle

Hello,

I am new to the whole System Generator environment, but I am trying to generate a signal generator (PWM) where I can programm the duty cycle via software from SDK.

My design is quite simple, I have a counter, and two relational blocks.

I use the relational block to reset the counter when it reaches the specified 8 bit constant, while I use the second relational block to decide the duty cycle of my PWM signal.

After this I have just connected a mux where I use my PWM signal to convert the whole wave to 14 bits values (0 -1) to send to a DAC connected to the FMC pins of my VC707 eval board.

I thought it may be possible to send the two values for the relational blocks via "From register" blocks, but actually once I have generated my IP Core I saw that there are some C functions to initialize the block and make it work.

Actually there are two things that are not really clear to me at the moment:

The first is: my IP Core seems to have two inputs and one output (as expected), I would connect the 14 bits output to the DAC , but there should be my inputs be connected?

The second  question is: the IP Core drivers are showing the base address of the IP Core inside the uBlaze system but this is address in memory for a 64 KB space, how can I go from this to my two "From Register" blocks?

For instance, if I have just two "From register" blocks, and the device base address is 0x72600000, and I have two 8 bit registers, should the addresses be 0x72600000 and 0x72600040?

I would need a quick tip to test If am able to test this block then via SDK application, or if at least there is a way to keep this simple and working.

BR,

Giovanni

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: Pulse generator with programmable duty cycle

You need to DDS compiler core in SDK environment.