UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor emack
Visitor

[SYSGEN] Very slow HW Cosimulation

Jump to solution

Hello to everyone, this is my first post here. I'm new to FPGA programming and to System Generator for DSP, even though I've already followed the introductive lessons in UG948 tutorial. 

Here is my question: when I would like to multiply two matrices (put, 1920 * 1080 frames for example), or make a simple elementwise arithmetic operation between two large arrays, my HW Cosimulation is very slow. 

dsp00.PNG

Ts is 1 sample/sec, according to Simulink Sample Time. Here is my System Generator Clock setting:

dsp03.PNG

Here is the Simulation report:

dsp01.PNG

But, when I come to JTAG HW Cosimulation, the elapsed time increases a lot:

dsp02.PNG

I'm using MATLAB R2014a and Vivado 2014.4. My board is a Zynq ZC706 Evaluation Kit. 

Any help or hint is welcome. I'm trying to use FIFOs now, in order to increase runtime speed. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Teacher eilert
Teacher

Re: [SYSGEN] Very slow HW Cosimulation

Jump to solution

Hi,

that is a normal observation when using such small blocks.

The slow interface and I/O scheduling betwen host and FPGA target cause this effect.

For your example try to imagine how fast the computer can move the data between memory and FPU, since you are doing just a simple multiplication.

The situation will change if you are going to HW-Cosimulate some really complex algorithm.

I posted a forum thread about this topic some time ago.

http://forums.xilinx.com/t5/DSP-Tools/HW-cosimulation-speed-with-ml506/m-p/184408#M4618