Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jbito4
Observer
Observer

Validate and debug Matlab/Simulink HDL coder custom IP core in Vivado

Hi,

I am still new to FPGA development and hopefully someone can suggest me a right way to solve the problem I have.

I created a custom IP core for a signal processing system using Matlab/Simulink HDL coder and now I am testing the PL design using in Vivado 2018.3.

The operation of the IP core was validated in Matlab/Simulink environment and IP core was properly generated for Zynq-7000 chip. As you can see, all ports are AXI-stream interface and some signal data from each channel is fed in the custom IP. After processing the data in this block, this IP spits out the detection data again with AXI-stream so that I can record the detection data via DMA. 

jbito4_0-1624561138699.png

Next, I made a simple test bench in Verilog in Vivado to simulate the behavior to validate the operation in Vivado environment.  
For input side, TVALID goes high after first data (f0ff: just random number I picked) goes in, so I guess input side of behavior seems to be correct. 

jbito4_1-1624561138712.png

However, TREADY remains "X" and TVALID remains "0" for all 4 outputs. Also, TLAST of one of output stays "Z" and other 3 turn 0 after a few tens of nano seconds. I think this behavior is wrong because TREADY and TVALID should become both "1" at some point to transfer data through AXI Stream interface.

jbito4_2-1624561138718.png

I tried to get some data from this IP using simple DMA, but no data was transferred to DDR, probably because of this strange behavior.

I have several questions.

1. Is there any good tool for me to further debug the IP core in Vivado? IP seems to be working in Matlab/Simulink environment, so I don't know what could be wrong.