UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer alexboin
Observer
5,932 Views
Registered: ‎08-19-2012

Verify fft Core in sysGen

Hi friends,

I want to test xilinx fft core7.1,but i can not get the right answer even for simplest signals,

I attach an image,Tell me if you can guess my mistake.

xilinxfft.jpg
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,915 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2011

Re: Verify fft Core in sysGen

How are you concluding that it is incorrect? What is the expected response?

 

How are you configuring the FFT? What is your simulink system period (set in the SysGen token)? What data type/rate are you setting in the gateway in for your data?

www.xilinx.com
0 Kudos
Observer alexboin
Observer
5,910 Views
Registered: ‎08-19-2012

Re: Verify fft Core in sysGen

I attached my matlab simulink file.

My input signal is just a sine wave,so i have only one frequency(but i find diffrent values in fft result)

the configuration is 8k point pipelined fft with 64MGHz Simulation frequency,13 bti phase factor width,unscaled,and natural order.

gateway_in data type is fixed point 14 bit with 13 binary point.

thanks for your answer.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,864 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2011

Re: Verify fft Core in sysGen

You forgot to attach your model.

www.xilinx.com
0 Kudos
Observer alexboin
Observer
5,856 Views
Registered: ‎08-19-2012

Re: Verify fft Core in sysGen

 
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,841 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2011

Re: Verify fft Core in sysGen

First, your FFT is only 512 long. Thus, looking at your 8K deep ROM with 1 period of a sine wave in it, keep in mind that you are only sending in 1/16 of a period for each FFT.

 

Secondly, you need to use xk_index (and rdy) to qualify your data. If you look at the image below, you see only one spike per FFT frame.

 

fft.png

www.xilinx.com
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,838 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2011

Re: Verify fft Core in sysGen

If you change the FFT to 8k and run the sim a bit longer (and zoom in!), you will see what I suspect is more of the result you are looking for:

 

fft2.png

www.xilinx.com
Observer alexboin
Observer
5,828 Views
Registered: ‎08-19-2012

Re: Verify fft Core in sysGen

Thanks for your answer my friend.

I can't see ur images,and i want to know what exactly tells me checking the value & its index?

also my result is sth like image below.

i visited http://myfpgablog.blogspot.com/2010/07/fft-results-from-matlab-fft-bit.html 

but i could not verify my result yet,because i can't run the 

Bit Accurate C model presented there

?

thanks

FFt.jpg
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,824 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2011

Re: Verify fft Core in sysGen

You are just about there. Now just zoom in on one full period of the ramp in the x-direction and zoom in on the data a bunch in the y-direction. I've attached the picture this time so you can download it.

www.xilinx.com
fft2.png