cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor
Visitor
1,138 Views
Registered: ‎12-25-2018

Vivado internal exception

Jump to solution

When I use FIR Compiler(v7.2), I select 'coe file' to load my filter coefficient. However, whenever I push the 'edit' button, the internal exception occurs. The detailed errors are listed as follows:

#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Xilinx Vivado v2018.2 (64-bit)
# SW Build: 2258646 on Thu Jun 14 20:03:12 MDT 2018
# IP Build: 2256618 on Thu Jun 14 22:10:49 MDT 2018
# Current time: Tue Dec 25 16:45:30 CST 2018
# Process ID: 44896
# User: wangh
# OS: Windows 10
#
# This report is an indication that an internal application error occurred.
# This information is useful for debugging. Please open a case with Xilinx.
# Technical Support with this file and a testcase attached.
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
java.lang.NullPointerException
at javax.swing.ImageIcon.<init>(ImageIcon.java:217)
at ui.data.coregen.a.bH.initialize(SourceFile:125)
at ui.data.coregen.a.bH.<init>(SourceFile:62)
at ui.data.coregen.a.bK.actionPerformed(SourceFile:215)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2022)
at ui.utils.o.b.a.fireActionPerformed(SourceFile:298)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(AbstractButton.java:2348)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(DefaultButtonModel.java:402)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(DefaultButtonModel.java:259)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(BasicButtonListener.java:252)
at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mouseReleased(AWTEventMulticaster.java:289)
at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mouseReleased(AWTEventMulticaster.java:289)
at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.mouseReleased(AWTEventMulticaster.java:289)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Component.java:6533)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(JComponent.java:3324)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Component.java:6298)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Container.java:2236)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4889)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2294)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4711)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Container.java:4888)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Container.java:4525)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Container.java:4466)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2280)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Window.java:2746)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:4711)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:758)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(EventQueue.java:97)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:709)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:703)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:80)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:90)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:731)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(EventQueue.java:729)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:80)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:728)
at ui.frmwork.b.d.dispatchEvent(SourceFile:76)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:201)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:116)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:105)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:101)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:93)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:82)

It would be great helpful is someone can explain my problem....

0 Kudos
Reply
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,069 Views
Registered: ‎12-16-2018

Hi 

I'M using Vivado 2017.4  and Matlab 2017b and everything works fine to me. In my experience Matlab throws this errors when some packets are missing or some incompatibility exist between the version of Vivado and Matlab. I never used Vivado 2018.2 with Matlab 2017b. But Xilinx continuously improves Vivado and maybe under your configuration exist this problem. If Vivado 2018.3 and Matlab 2017b works fine, them use this set of tools for you designs. I hope that this advice be helpful to you.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply
4 Replies
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,119 Views
Registered: ‎12-16-2018

Hi wanghao08a,

The problem seems to be the lack of some package in your operating system that Matlab needs to be able to work or an error during the installation of Matlab. Make sure that your version of sysgen is compatible with your version of Matlab, that your operating system has installed VC ++, NETFRAMEWORK, etc. A quick way is to try to configure another block of Sysgen and see if the error persists, in that case make sure you have all the above and reinstall Matlab

0 Kudos
Reply
Visitor
Visitor
1,075 Views
Registered: ‎12-25-2018

Well...My matlab version is 2017b and the vivado software version is 2018.2. It seems that no error exists when I installed Matlab or Vivado.

In fact, I can generate the fir_compiler:7.2 core or other cores successfully. The only problem is I cannot check the coefficient with the edit button... Whenever I click the edit button, a vivado internal exception window comes and tells me that vivado may be in an unstable state...

Besides, I downloaded vivado 2018.3 and installed it in my computer yesterday. Amazingly, the problem no longer exists and coefficients can be edited on vivado 2018.3. I am not sure whether the error has already been corrected in the latest version...

0 Kudos
Reply
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,070 Views
Registered: ‎12-16-2018

Hi 

I'M using Vivado 2017.4  and Matlab 2017b and everything works fine to me. In my experience Matlab throws this errors when some packets are missing or some incompatibility exist between the version of Vivado and Matlab. I never used Vivado 2018.2 with Matlab 2017b. But Xilinx continuously improves Vivado and maybe under your configuration exist this problem. If Vivado 2018.3 and Matlab 2017b works fine, them use this set of tools for you designs. I hope that this advice be helpful to you.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply
Visitor
Visitor
1,041 Views
Registered: ‎12-25-2018

Hi,

Thanks for your advice. I reinstalled the windows system and tried again. The result shows that this error does not have any relationship with Matlab because I only installed Vivado 2018.3 without matlab. The filter core in Vivado 2018.3 works well without Matlab. 

Maybe my windows software conflicts with Vivado 2018.2 and Vivado 2018.3 solved this conflict.

Thank you all the same and I will use Vivado 2018.3 in the future.

0 Kudos
Reply