Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
estebanpw
Visitor
Visitor

resetn_0 port error: Unconstrained logical port

Jump to solution

Hello, 

I am new to FPGAs. So far I am following this tutorial to try to run some custom logic (an adder in the tutorial) on the FPGA.

However, when I try to generate the bitstream I get the "unconstrained logical port" error. I have seen several threads which indicate that to fix this there are two options available, namely (1) ignoring it via tcl command and (2) setting the appropriate pin in the constraints file. Since I am new to fpgas, I am kind of afraid to just ignore it, so I was trying to set the pin.

However, I am unable to find anywhere how to do pin planning on the alveo u200 accelerator card. 

The port that yields the error is the "resetn_0" which is automatically created when I run block automation. 

How can I properly configure the pin planning for this particular port on this board?

Thank you for your time!

For the record, the error is:

[DRC UCIO-1] Unconstrained Logical Port: 1 out of 4 logical ports have no user assigned specific location constraint (LOC). This may cause I/O contention or incompatibility with the board power or connectivity affecting performance, signal integrity or in extreme cases cause damage to the device or the components to which it is connected. To correct this violation, specify all pin locations. This design will fail to generate a bitstream unless all logical ports have a user specified site LOC constraint defined. To allow bitstream creation with unspecified pin locations (not recommended), use this command: set_property SEVERITY {Warning} [get_drc_checks UCIO-1]. NOTE: When using the Vivado Runs infrastructure (e.g. launch_runs Tcl command), add this command to a .tcl file and add that file as a pre-hook for write_bitstream step for the implementation run. Problem ports: resetn_0.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
dsakjl
Explorer
Explorer

Hi @estebanpw ,