UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer

FPGA Power On Reset!

I'm new to Xilinx FPGAs (I usually use Actels!)

I'm really confused about how to initilize the registers on power-up. I've been told not to use the GSR as it has lots of skew.
The link below is useful and what I use in Actel FPGAs. What I don't quite understand is that if I use a syncronous reset, then this is making nested IF statements one level deeper and result in slower clock speeds. Also, what signal do I use as the reset signal since Xilinx FPGAs are not live on power-up.

I here also that I can use the INIT statement to clear/set signals for synthesis

attribute INIT : string;

attribute INIT of DRS_S : signal is "00";

but for simulation I also need to initialize the signal:

signal DRS_S : std_logic_vector(1 downto 0) := "00";

This is OK for logic with no feedback that needs to be reset. But how do I reset the logic with feedback?

I'm going round in circles so any comments are appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Instructor
Instructor

Re: FPGA Power On Reset!

For SRAM-based FPGA's, power-on reset initiates the program load or configuration.  How this happens depends on the mode pins.  There are users guides for configuration for each FPGA family that describe the possible methods.