UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Start out with Xilinx

I have several years experience designing and implementing embedded projects but have never used an Xilinx device. I have the need now to use a XCR3064XL or similiar device but don't know where to start.

I have searched the Xilinx web site and found what I believe I will need to get started but would like some confirmation. I have also asked a supplier (Nu Horizons) through e-mail for support but got a reply to wait ten days for a response. What I think I need is the Xilinx Platform Studio and the EDK, and the Coolrunner II starter kit (I am not at all sure that the XCR3064XL is a member of the Coolrunner II family). The system I am designing will have to synchronize output signals with input signals and do some light processing to calculate timing. I would like to use either C or an assembly language for the software and I guess VHDL for connections.

Any general information about the Xilinx family of devices (those related or similiar to the XCR3064XL) and the required development systems and their names would be greatly appreciated.
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Contributor
Contributor

Re: Start out with Xilinx

As for evaluation boards, you may want have a look at Digilent (www.digilentinc.com) - they have an older, inexpensive ($60) board that is based on the XCR3064, maybe that works for you.