cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Explorer
Explorer

AXI4 - why use separate address wires for burst transactions?

Hi,

I am new to AXI. Looks great, I like it, but there are situations where I find it an overkill. In AXI4 if a burst transaction is used, the address wires are used only a very little percentage of the time. Why use separate set of wires for data and address? Why not use a stream and send commands and parameters (e.g. length, burst type) first and then payload (in case of a write transaction)? Like most ICs config interface. The write response could also arrive thru the same channel where normally the payload would arrive after a read command. Sure makeable, but is there maybe a widespread standard for this kind of memory (or register) access?

AXI-Lite still uses separate address and data wires.

Thank you

Miklos

0 Kudos
10 Replies

Oh dear, the wheel has just been discovered... now you have published it, it cannot be patented as "means and technique of optimizing the wire count in burst transactions between elements in programmable logic or integrated circuits"

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer

@archangel-lightworks wrote:

Oh dear, the wheel has just been discovered... now you have published it, it cannot be patented as "means and technique of optimizing the wire count in burst transactions between elements in programmable logic or integrated circuits"

Your reply has been most helpful. Of course there is nothing new in this (as I wrote "Like most ICs config interface.").  QuadSPI protocol does the same, but with serial lines. The question is, is there a standardized way to do something like the protocol at QuadSPI, but with parallel datalines, that is with a(n AXI) stream?

Thank you.

Miklos

0 Kudos
Scholar
Scholar

@mbence76,

I share some of your AXI questions, but perhaps I might be able to offer some perspectives.