UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor kilinx
Visitor
7,197 Views
Registered: ‎12-19-2012

CORE Generator for Spartan 3

Jump to solution

Hi

 

I've not managed to pass item #6 on page 25 of 150.

 

Every item is greyed out because the Device chosen in the tutorial isn't supported.

 

I've installed the ISE with WebPack licence on Windows.

 

Am I allowed to do this in WebPack mode?

 

I've searched through the Forum with a limited search string, but come up trumps.

 

Kilinx

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,112 Views
Registered: ‎07-22-2008

Re: CORE Generator for Spartan 3

Jump to solution

If you are using Webpack 14.4 see: http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/53695.htm

There is and issue with Core Generator resolving the device family correctly in the Webpack install.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Scholar austin
Scholar
7,196 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: CORE Generator for Spartan 3

Jump to solution

http://www.xilinx.com/ise/products/classics/parts_list.htm

 

Check that the version of webpack has the part you need to support.

 

It may be that you are using too new a version.

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
Instructor
Instructor
7,179 Views
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

Re: CORE Generator for Spartan 3

Jump to solution

As long as you're not using "Vivado" webpack, it should support Spartan 3, however you

may not be able to support the largest parts (3S1000 or larger IIRC) using webpack.  If you

don't see Spartan 3 at all, you may have loaded Vivado instead of ISE.  Up until very

recently Vivado was not available as a webpack.  I can never find the link to the software

support web page, but it shows exactly which devices are supported by each version

of the tools.

 

-- Gabor

-- Gabor
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,113 Views
Registered: ‎07-22-2008

Re: CORE Generator for Spartan 3

Jump to solution

If you are using Webpack 14.4 see: http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/53695.htm

There is and issue with Core Generator resolving the device family correctly in the Webpack install.

0 Kudos
Visitor kilinx
Visitor
7,115 Views
Registered: ‎12-19-2012

Re: CORE Generator for Spartan 3

Jump to solution

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you, howardp.  Got sidetracked with another project

 

Your suggestion cracked the problem !

 

Many thanks 

0 Kudos
Visitor kilinx
Visitor
7,100 Views
Registered: ‎12-19-2012

Re: CORE Generator for Spartan 3

Jump to solution

I've been trying to compile the UG695 tutorial for the Spartan 6 XC6slx16 FPGA.

 

This tutorialwas written for the Spartan 3. 

 

Has anyone managed to do this successfully?  I'm being challenged by the DCM clock generator.  You have to manually create clocks with a raft of more settings.  Yet when I think I've done it, I get an error during map stating the VCO frequency is beyond its limits.

 

Actually, my eval license has run out :(, So I'm reverting to a WebPack licence.  WHen I looked at the product matrix, I am right in thinking the FPGA (I have on a digilent board) is covered by the WEBPACK licence?

 

K

0 Kudos
Instructor
Instructor
7,093 Views
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

Re: CORE Generator for Spartan 3

Jump to solution

Yes, the XC6SLX16 is covered by the WebPack license, but you don't get the EDK tools.

WebPack is essentially the "Logic Edition" with a restricted set of parts.

 

As for the DCM issues, I would suggest using the Core Generator's clocking wizard.

This allows you to enter the desired frequencies and phases and automatically

generates code that instantiates DCM's or PLL's as required to generate your

clocks.  You can then edit the generated source, if it doesn't quite match your

interface requirements.  But it does a good job of making sure that all of the

requirements of the DCM or PLL (like VCO frequency) are met.

 

-- Gabor

-- Gabor
0 Kudos
Visitor kilinx
Visitor
7,089 Views
Registered: ‎12-19-2012

Re: CORE Generator for Spartan 3

Jump to solution

Thanks Gabor.

 

I did actually manage to create the a successful DCM and clock generator....thing is...I'm not quite sure how.

 

I had problems generating a 26.2144MHz from a 50MHz input.  Yet when I changed it to 26MHz output, it worked fine.

 

The complaint had to do with a VCO frequency out of bounds.  I need to see how to trigger that fault again.

0 Kudos