Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
urodacus
Observer
Observer

Change of custom IP in a block design

Hello,

I'm kinda new to BD and IP but I learned how to use it a bit for a design on Zynq.

If I'm here it's because I encountered a problem. I'm working on a project where the client change some aspects about what he wants so I have to adapt it.

I use a custom IP in a BD and when I upgrade it there is no problem except when the number of ports changes, Vivado ask me to upgrade it so I do but the synthesis won't go through, several error messages (one for each new port).

"Does not have matching formal port for component..."

I deleted the VHDL wrapper and asked Vivado to do it again and still the same. Is there a way to update it without any problem ?

Sorry for bad english and thanks :)

0 Kudos
8 Replies
dpaul24
Scholar
Scholar

@urodacus,

I use a custom IP in a BD and when I upgrade it there is no problem except when the number of ports changes,

Yes, if there are unconnected ports of the IP, then Vivado will complain.

Did you try the validate block design feature after your changes to the custom IP?

------------FPGA enthusiast------------
Consider giving "Kudos" if you like my answer. Please mark my post "Accept as solution" if my answer has solved your problem
Asking for solutions to problems via PM will be ignored.

0 Kudos
urodacus
Observer
Observer

@dpaul24 I connected all the new ports and design is validated

0 Kudos
dpaul24
Scholar
Scholar

@urodacus,

From you description I cannot guess any answers.

Is there a way to update it without any problem ?

As a workaround, take you custom IP completely out of the BD. Create a wrapper_BD without your custom IP. Then create a top level wrapper where you instiantiate the wrapper_BD, custom IP and connect both.

Consider giving "Kudos" if you like my answer. Please mark my post "Accept as solution" if my answer has solved your problem

0 Kudos
anusheel

@urodacus