UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,491 Views
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

CoreGenerator: Problem generating DCM for Spartan-3 xc3s1000 with ISE13.2

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

I need to create 2 different DCMs for a project with Spartan 3 xc3s1000-5ft256.

If I use the CoreGen with ISE 13.1, In FPGA Features and design / Clocking / Spartan-3 there is a module Single DCM

version13.1.

Identifier:   xilinx.com:ip:dcm:13.1
 

Indicated as being supported for my family. The generation is OK, files are generated

 

BUT

 

When reloading the CoreGenerator, the module is eliminated and the following indicated:

 

ERROR:sim:879 - Part 'xc3s1000-5ft256' is not valid for component 'xilinx.com:ip:dcm_sp:13.1'.

WARNING:sim:863 - Failed to create component instance for XAW file 'Z:\projects\fgc\hw\pops\PAL\PAL_6M\FPGA\xproj\DCM_Slice.xaw' during project migration.

 

And is trying to compile, TRANSLATE fails with following error:

 

ERROR:NgdBuild:604: - logical block 'PAM_Clock_gen/DCM_INST2' with type 'DCM_Slice' could not be resolved. A pin name misspelling can cause this, a missing edif or ngc file, case mismatch between the block name and the edif or ngc file name, or the misspelling of a type name. Symbol 'DCM_Slice' is not supported in target 'spartan3'.

 

How can I generate a DCM for Spartan-3?????

 

 

PS:I have an old file (vhd) generated with Architecture Wizard (perhaps ISE 9) that is compiled correctly....

Of course I could use the same vhdl and adapt the multiplier / divider for my new cases , but .........

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,690 Views
Registered: ‎01-11-2011

Re: CoreGenerator: Problem generating DCM for Spartan-3 xc3s1000 with ISE13.2

Jump to solution

This issue has been identified and currently there is a Change Request to have developers look into and resolve the issue. There is also more information linked below containing suggested options.

 

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/38170.htm

 

Please read this Answer Record for more information.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Visitor robertheaton
Visitor
7,468 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2011

Re: CoreGenerator: Problem generating DCM for Spartan-3 xc3s1000 with ISE13.2

Jump to solution

Did you find a resolution to this issue?

 

I have something very similar with a Startan 6 DCM.

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,460 Views
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: CoreGenerator: Problem generating DCM for Spartan-3 xc3s1000 with ISE13.2

Jump to solution

Hi,

Unfortunately not... I have patched my old VHDL file instead ....

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,691 Views
Registered: ‎01-11-2011

Re: CoreGenerator: Problem generating DCM for Spartan-3 xc3s1000 with ISE13.2

Jump to solution

This issue has been identified and currently there is a Change Request to have developers look into and resolve the issue. There is also more information linked below containing suggested options.

 

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/38170.htm

 

Please read this Answer Record for more information.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,382 Views
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: CoreGenerator: Problem generating DCM for Spartan-3 xc3s1000 with ISE13.2

Jump to solution

Thanks

0 Kudos