cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable

Do I have what it takes to use Vivado software?

Hi am new here I may be posting this in the wrong forum.   My background is I used ISE 10 but mainly used the schematic capture and the FSM software for my designs.  I used a little VHDL and Verilog from the library to form some blocks for my schematic projects.  For the most part my designs have all centered around Schematics.  I have some unique design blocks for full projects I did with the finite State machine software. I have in stock has a board with a Spartan 3500E on it and I was planning to use for a demo when I found out this board is being discontinued. The new board of the same series has a 7A100 in it. This will multiply my capabilities compared the old board I had. I also downloaded the Vivado series design tool and found it very powerful in some aspects to ISE. I lost my connection to someone that can write code and Tcl script. I need to get this demonstration model done ASAP so I have the following questions.

1. I see you cannot migrate schematic files to Vivado. I don’t want to migrate complete projects just the blocks of circuits in them especially the ones I generated from the FSM software which is converted to VHDL and Verilog. Can I make custom IP’s from them and use them in Vivado?
  2. I don’t have time for a learning curve. Is the Vivado software a software that requires more knowledge and experience concerning writing code than I have (which is limited)? If I can handle the learning curve using the Vivado design tools in a descent amount of time, I want to use the board with 7A100 in it. If I can’t then I will have to use the board that has. the Spartan 3500E
  3. What kind of prerequisites in learning do I need to perform a successful project in Vivado

Thanks

Rex

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

R,