Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dstorrar
Visitor
Visitor

Edit Packaged IP: how should it work?

Jump to solution

I'm relatively new to using Vivado, but have been doing ASIC design for 20+ years.  I'm finding it impossible to get Vivado to do what I want with custom IP.

Here's what I'm trying to do:

• Create a re-usable AXI block (AXI-Lite slave for register programming; AXI-Stream slave for incoming data; AXI4 master for processed data to memory)
  • Use the block in different projects and/or multiple instances in a block-design
  • Have a single master set of files for the IP, under Git revision control
  • Have a single IP repository containing packaged IP of multiple IPs.  Also under Git revision control
  • When the IP block at release quality - create a new IP release into the repository (maybe replacing the current one, maybe creating a new major release).

Here's what I've done for the IP block:

• Files are created according to revision control recommendation in UG892 Ch5
    • All sources (HDL, constraints, block-designs, testbench) are external (remote) from the Vivado project.
    • All sources are under revision control: ip_design/<ip_name>/hdl,constraints,etc.
    • A working-directory is used for the Vivado project, and only the XPR file is under revision control: ip_design/<ip_name>/work/<ip_name>.xpr
  • Next, the Package IP wizard is run
    • The output directory is set to ip_repo/<ip_name> and a temporary project pops up, as expected.
    • I make changes in the various packaging steps (document parameters, tweak ports etc.)
    • I package the IP, and all the sources are copied to ip_repo/<ip_name>/src and the IP-XACT file appears in ip_repo/<ip_name>/component.xml
    • The temporary project is closed, and I'm back in the original IP design project, but the XML file (from ip_repo) has now appeared in the design sources as an IP-XACT file.