UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Editor question/issue

Jump to solution

I am new to fpga stuff, this is a fairly basic question. I am using the iSE10.1 webpack with the Avent $39 spartan eval board.

I can understand, follow, and create the "blinking led" in the iSE10.1 quick start guide, which is nearly identical to the Avent spartan eval board docs with success, it runs, and blinks the LED as I expect. I can also trivially modify that file in various ways.  :-)

I then try to create a new more complex project, in this case - a micro interface module, which has  the normal 'memory type interface signals' (cs, rd, wr, address, data).

I use the createa new module, "verilog" and define the In/Outsignals. Eventually, I am done and I get to the "summary screen" and finish the process.

In the sources (implimentation) window, I have 2 items;

"foobar" and "xc3s400a-4ft256"

Functionally identical to the screen shot in the ISE Quick Start Guide.

Under the Xilinx tutorial, you create the 1st module - while creating the project (ie: create the first module as you are creating the project)

Under the Avent tutorial, they suggest you skip that step, and add it later (ie: create the project, *THEN* create the 1st module)

In the end, I have 2 tabs visible, "foo.v" and "Design Summary"

I then start editing the "foo.v" file - adding comments, and typing various things in. 

Eventually I *SAVE* the "foo.v" file because I want to "check the syntax".

Per the tutorial screen shots - the file "foo.v" should be *UNDER* the chip - not under the project name.