cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
12,614 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

 When I start a new file in VHDL using ISE, the default libraries come up as:

 

library IEEE;

use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.ALL;

use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_ARITH.ALL;

use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_UNSIGNED.ALL;

 

 

How do I change this , I don't ever want arith !

 

 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
15,607 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2008

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

you're right. I found this : remove the line puts $_fs "use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_ARITH.ALL;" from data\projnav\scripts\dpm_sourceTasks.tcl.

The file contains the procedures for the source operations.

 

View solution in original post

11 Replies
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
12,588 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2008

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

I suppose you should try and modify the file vhdl.xml in the directory data\projnav\templates\vhdl.xml. Unfortunately, I'm not an expert of xml.

Regards,

 Mariano

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
12,586 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

hi

 

thanks for that,

 

good find, had hunt, but I can't see the default lines in there.

 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
15,608 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2008

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

you're right. I found this : remove the line puts $_fs "use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_ARITH.ALL;" from data\projnav\scripts\dpm_sourceTasks.tcl.

The file contains the procedures for the source operations.

 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
12,576 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

Hi

 

fantastic

 

that works,

 

Now 

 

a) need to get it on a stick so we don't loose it

 

b) get it added to the GUI, so it's not over written on each  update of ISE.

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Historian
Historian
12,567 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

drjohnsmith wrote:

a) need to get it on a stick so we don't loose (sic) it.

 

b) get it added to the GUI, so it's not over written on each  update of ISE.


I have opened more than one WebCase addressing this exact issue, and each time I'm told that it will be taken under consideration.

 

Which, as I understand, means that my request is piped to /dev/null.

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
12,562 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

Hi

 

does seem that web cases might not be the way for 'software' changes / recommendations to be logged, 

 

so can we get a new forum opened for that ?

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Historian
Historian
12,535 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

drjohnsmith wrote:

Hi

 

does seem that web cases might not be the way for 'software' changes / recommendations to be logged, 

 

so can we get a new forum opened for that ?

 


I know of no other mechanism, other than complaining to the local FAE/rep.

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
12,524 Views
Registered: ‎07-27-2009

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

You can also just dump the whole ISE IDE and use the command line mode of the tools with whatever editor you like most. Avoid the issue rather than try to get it fixed 'in the next release'. Sorry if this sounds lame.

 

Cheers,

Johan

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Historian
Historian
12,509 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

drjohnsmith wrote:

 When I start a new file in VHDL using ISE, the default libraries come up as:

 

library IEEE;

use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.ALL;

use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_ARITH.ALL;

use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_UNSIGNED.ALL;

 

 

How do I change this , I don't ever want arith !

 

 

 


Use a real text editor. There is absolutely no reason at all to use the ISE text editor. 

Create and edit the files with emacs and its vhdl mode. Then simply add the sources to the ISE project.

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
4,973 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

Hi

 

Point of note. I don't use ISE editor,


<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Historian
Historian
4,971 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

Re: ISE , default vhdl IEEE libraries

Jump to solution

drjohnsmith wrote:

Hi

 

Point of note. I don't use ISE editor,



So you're using the ISE function "create VHDL source" or whatever it's called?

 

Don't do that, and the libraries issue goes away.

 

Besides, the default header you can add with emacs is a lot nicer :)

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos