UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
5,252 Views
Registered: ‎07-13-2015

MMCM allows only 7 output frequencies

Jump to solution

I am only able to generate 7 clocks by one MMCM. I want more than 7 clocks for my design. Do i need to use another MMCM. Is there a way so that i can generate more than 7 clocks from one MMCM only.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,889 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: MMCM allows only 7 output frequencies

Jump to solution
yes you can use multiple MMCM
check this post as well
https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/General-Technical-Discussion/How-to-Synchronize-clocks-between-multiple-MMCM/td-p/567146
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,239 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: MMCM allows only 7 output frequencies

Jump to solution
mmcm supports Output clock frequencies up to seven maximum only . you can use clock divider circuits
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
5,235 Views
Registered: ‎07-13-2015

Re: MMCM allows only 7 output frequencies

Jump to solution

Is it ok to use two MMCM's.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,890 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: MMCM allows only 7 output frequencies

Jump to solution
yes you can use multiple MMCM
check this post as well
https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/General-Technical-Discussion/How-to-Synchronize-clocks-between-multiple-MMCM/td-p/567146
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
5,204 Views
Registered: ‎07-21-2014

Re: MMCM allows only 7 output frequencies

Jump to solution

@hulk789

 

You need to use multiple MMCMs if your design have more clocks. Also, refer the 7 series clocking user guide for more details:

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/user_guides/ug472_7Series_Clocking.pdf

 

Thanks,
Anusheel
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Search for documents/answer records related to your device and tool before posting query on forums.
Search related forums and make sure your query is not repeated.

Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helps to resolve your query.
Helpful answer -> Give Kudos
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
Teacher muzaffer
Teacher
5,193 Views
Registered: ‎03-31-2012

Re: MMCM allows only 7 output frequencies

Jump to solution
I'm curious why more than 7 clocks are necessary, would you mind describing the design a little?
- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
5,181 Views
Registered: ‎07-13-2015

Re: MMCM allows only 7 output frequencies

Jump to solution

I have input 10Mhz clock.

I want to generate 40Mhz clocks with phase 0 , 180

20 Mhz clocks with phase 0,90,180,270

10Mhz clocks with phase 0,45,90,135,180,225,270,315

If i give clkin(same clk) to two MMCM will they be synchronized 

 

When i tried to use 2 MMCM

Issues faced:

1. [DRC 23-20] Rule violation (UCIO-1) Unconstrained Logical Port - 1 out of 13 logical ports have no user assigned(This is for the clkin signal)

2.Not enough BUFG's inside FPGA

0 Kudos