Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Parallel design with multiple input samples per clock cycle

Hello,

I am new to FPGA development and to this community. I hope the post is in the correct forum.

I would like to create and simulate a block design based on a AXI4 stream describing an ADC with a sample width of 12 bit, an operating sampling frequency fs, and a clock frequency of fs/8. This would result in 8 samples per clock cycle. The 8 samples should be accessible in a register with a width of 8 * 12 bits at every clock cycle. Unfortunately, I do not know how to create such a design, where I receive multiple samples per clock cycle because the ADC sampling frequency is higher than the clock frequency.

Are there any keywords for those types of design I could use to find some examples? And are those designs able to be used for FIR filtering and FFT or do I need one sample per clock cycle?

Also, If you need further information, please let me know.

Thank you!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

Re: Parallel design with multiple input samples per clock cycle

(Edit to add: I don't know why this post just showed up as new in the forums for me today.  Your header indicates you asked this on March 4, but for some reason its only showed up today..)

Key missing datapoint.  What is Fs?  20 MHz?  200 MHz?  500 MHz?

"SuperPipelining" (I think I've seen that term at least) in which you're doing DSP with multiple samples per clock can get VERY messy. 

If your sample rate is low enough, it's highly recommended that you only operate on one sample per clock within the internal FPGA calculations.  This is NOT saying that your interface to the ADC needs to be one sample per clock.  The interface can be wider (as your is); but as soon as your data is within the FPGA, you should buffer and try and operate one sample per clock.