UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor jzmuda
Visitor

Problem with Post Synthesis simulation model (verilog) generated by ISE 10.1 from schematic

Hi!  I am a newbie to Verilog in general and the ISE 10.1 toolset in particular.

Hi! I am a newbie to Verilog in general. And to the ISE 10.1 Toolset in particular.

But, I do know a few things.  Like how to diagnose a problem.   :-)  

Here I use the "replace one component at a time until you find the one that is broken" method.  In particular, here I will replace a Verilog model that ISE generates from my Schematic with "equivalent" hand coded Verilog.  And find that the hand-coded Verilog works, but the Verilog generated by ISE does not.  Hence, my conclusion that there is something wrong with ISE 10.1's translation from Schematic to Verilog. At least in this one case.  

(BTW, when I synthesize the design that is captured in the schematic ( in the file "jc2_sch/jc2_top.sch") and load it on an FPGA board, it actually works.  So, it is just the generation of the "Post-synthesis simulation model" that I am suspicious of.  But, that is the part that I NEED.  I really want to be able to simulate design using the ModelSim tool. And, for this, I need the "Post-synthesis simulation model" Verilog that ISE 10.1 produces.)