cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rmogster
Observer
Observer
1,557 Views
Registered: ‎12-12-2017

Problem with generated tcl scripts

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

I used the Vivado tool to generate the tcl scripts for Synthesis and Implementation + Generate bitstream.  I used the "scripts only" option to get the files.  I ran the synthesis tcl script in a windows command window.  It finished with no errors.  The script took about as long as a GUI run.  Then I ran the  Implementation tcl script.  It failed and generated the following line.

 

ERROR: [Project 1-9] Cannot open structural netlist because no structural source files were specified. Edif, ngc ngo and verilog structural netlists are supported.

 

I ran Synthesis from the GUI, then re-ran the Implementation tcl script from the command window.  This time it worked.

 

What do I need to do so I can use just the tcl scripts, in non-project mode, to compile the project and generate the bitstream file?

 

Thank you.

 

 

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
thakurr
Moderator
Moderator
1,873 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Hi @rmogster

 

Once you run the project in the GUI mode till bitstream. There will be  tcl scripts generated in the .runs/synth_1 and .runs/impl_1. You can use these scripts for non-project mode. You can follow the below steps.

1) Open Vivado tcl shell.

2) Cd to the location where the scripts are present.

3) source xx.tcl

 

Regards

Rohit

 

 

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
thakurr
Moderator
Moderator
1,874 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Hi @rmogster

 

Once you run the project in the GUI mode till bitstream. There will be  tcl scripts generated in the .runs/synth_1 and .runs/impl_1. You can use these scripts for non-project mode. You can follow the below steps.

1) Open Vivado tcl shell.

2) Cd to the location where the scripts are present.

3) source xx.tcl

 

Regards

Rohit

 

 

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
rmogster
Observer
Observer
1,455 Views
Registered: ‎12-12-2017

Thanks.

 

That works well.

0 Kudos
johnbdunn
Visitor
Visitor
835 Views
Registered: ‎11-20-2018

BTW I stupidly clicked the 'do not ask me again' box on the green 'play' button where it normally gives you a chance to run the systhesis or just generate the tcl scripts for it. Now I can't gen scripts, and I might want to do that soon

I don't suppose anybody knows how to get the script generation option back up again once you've done that?

0 Kudos
surajc
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
801 Views
Registered: ‎01-30-2019

@johnbdunn 

Go to settings and check uncheck as per your preference

 

Capture.JPG

 

--Suraj

0 Kudos
johnbdunn
Visitor
Visitor
792 Views
Registered: ‎11-20-2018
Thanks Suraj, I knew it had to be in there some where
0 Kudos