cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Simple revision control flow?

I have been using Vivado since version 2013.x and it seems we STILL do not have a GOOD revision control flow for Vivado.  The newest effort as documented in UG1198 doesn't seem any better.

1. IP core containers are unusable in revision control; they reduce the large numbers of text files that must be revision controlled and replace them with a binary file that is difficult for main stream revision control systems to efficiently handle and makes tracking changes almost impossible.

2. UG892 (and the quick take video at http://www.xilinx.com/video/hardware/vivado-design-suite-revision-control.html) recommends revision controlling project XPR files yet these XPR files are modified when opened if they have been checked out to a different path than the one they were committed from (common for multi-user projects).

3. UG1198 recommends essentially copying BD and IP sources to a working directory instead of directly using the revision controlled versions.  How do I move changes from my working version to the revision controlled version then?  Copy the entire working directory back to the revision controlled directory? ... if so then we defeat the purpose of revision control which is to monitor, track, and record REAL changes to files.  Copying from my working directory to my revision controlled directory will result in MANY files being touched and viewed as changed even though they really haven't.

4. UG1198 goes over the "recommended" way to move from a fresh checkout to the "work" directory (even if I don't agree with the process) but doesn't go over how to move the other way; that is how to capture changes made to the BD, to the top level project, etc and capture those changes with revision control.