cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
12,388 Views
Registered: ‎08-06-2013

Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

I updated to Vivado 2013.3 and I am now forced to rebuild the whole project (takes a long time) every time after I exit Vivado and then I start it again and reopen the project.

 

Here is a screenshot showing the built “Complete status” project on Vivado exit:

Vivado Complete1.JPG

 

Here is a screenshot showing the status after starting Vivado and reloading the project:

Vivado Out-of-date1.JPG

 

Is there any fix or workaround for this issue?

 

Regards,

Vlad

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,384 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2012

Re: Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

Hi,

Is there any change made between closing and opening the project?

You can force the processes to up to date. Open the project in vivado. In the upper right-hand corner, click on "more info" and then "Force up-to-date". This step will prevent the tools from re-synthesizing and re-implementing the design.

Thanks,
Deepika.
Thanks,
Deepika.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (the star on the left)
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
12,378 Views
Registered: ‎08-06-2013

Re: Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

Thanks for the quick reply Deepika.

There are no changes to the project or source files. I just implement the design and exit Vivado.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
12,373 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

Have you saved your project in the vivado 2013.3 or using the same project as read only.

If yes then try to save the project then run synthesis & implementation in vivado 2013.3. Now if you close then it will start from the same state.

Thanks
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
12,362 Views
Registered: ‎08-06-2013

Re: Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

No, I haven't saved explicitly the project. So far, any changes I made to the project seem to be automatically saved.

E.g., I add a new vhd source file, buld the project successfully, create Xilinx binary image and exit Vivado. On exit, Vivado doesn't ask if I want to save the project because I have changed it.

 

Next time when I start Vivado, I see the added file and all project changes as expected. Why do I need to save the project?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
12,359 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

If you are migrating your project from older version to newer version then first your should save the project.

So your whole project is in one directory?

If not then archive the project & save it one directory then try to work on it.

There won't be any change in the project.

Thanks
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
12,344 Views
Registered: ‎08-06-2013

Re: Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

I created brand new design, generated IP cores, added my source files, synthesised and implemented all until I got the “Complete” status.

Next I exit Vivado, started it again and reloaded the project. The status now was “Out-of-date”.

Started rebuilding the project and Vivado went through rebuilding everything including all IP cores. This is just a bug in Vivado 2013.3. It shouldn’t force rebuilding when nothing has been changed.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,341 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2012

Re: Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

Hi,
Where did you save the project(network drive or local drive)?when adding files to the project, did you enable "copy sources to project directory"?

As workaround, you can force the process up to date as mentioned earlier.

Thanks,
Deepika.
Thanks,
Deepika.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (the star on the left)
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
12,336 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

Hi,
Please try this with the example project & let me know your outcome.

Open any example project & run till implementation & exit vivado 2013.3.

Then go to project directory & try to open the design without any changes.

It will open from the same state from where you have stopped.

Thanks
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,318 Views
Registered: ‎09-20-2012

Re: Vivado 2013.3 – project constantly “Out-of-date” when initially loaded

Hi,

 

If you are using version control system, I would suggest to go through the recommendations at http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1165.pdf

 

Hope this helps.

 

Thanks,

Deepika.

Thanks,
Deepika.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (the star on the left)
0 Kudos