UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Explorer
Explorer

Vivado Newbie: Help adding SystemVerilog File as a module to the block design

Jump to solution

Hello, I'm new to Vivado and like using the Block Design using modules from my RTL. I have created a project with a Block Design and created a single SystemVerilog file. When I try to add in the file as a module it won't let me. If I choose "Show incompatible modules" from the Add Modules window I do see my module but I don't know why I can't add it to the Block design.

Add_Module.jpgI will also upload my  project. Is SystemVerilog files not allowed?

Thanks,

Joe

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Vivado Newbie: Help adding SystemVerilog File as a module to the block design

Jump to solution

Hi @joe306,

As per latest UG 994, SV module reference in BD is not supported.  (See below are the limitations of the module ref. feature)

moduleref.JPG

you can only use verilog and VHDL to use the "add module" functionality.

To integrate your IP in a BD, you can try to instantiate it in a verilog file and then add this verilog file as a module.

Regards,
hemangd

Don't forget to give kudos and mark it as accepted solution if your issue gets resolved.
11 Replies
Scholar watari
Scholar

Re: Vivado Newbie: Help adding SystemVerilog File as a module to the block design

Jump to solution

Hi @joe306

I confirmed your system verilog file.

Because of this file has a mistake in line 36. So, Vivado can not add this module.

Would you make sure it ?

Best regards,

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer

Jump to solution