cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Explorer
Explorer
9,092 Views
Registered: ‎12-06-2013

Vivado clocking wizard diagram port renaming bug

Jump to solution

Vivado 2015.2

Win7, SP1

Clocking Wizard v5.1

 

Openned the clocking wizard and tried to rename the ports as per the latest PG065 and the names are grayed out, i.e. I can't name the ports. 

portRenaming.png

0 Kudos
Reply
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Explorer
Explorer
16,161 Views
Registered: ‎12-06-2013

The effort to fix this would be minimal but yes, this query has been adequately addressed. Thanks all!

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply
8 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,038 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Hi @jeff_king,

 

I see no issues editing the port names at my end. Attaching the screenshot. Can you please show us the other tabs also?

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
Capture.JPG
0 Kudos
Reply
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,029 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Hi

 

If you are using the clocking wizard in IPI then you cannot rename the ports in the GUI.

 

The renaming is available only in RTL projects.

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,023 Views
Registered: ‎02-14-2014

Hello @jeff_king,

 

This issue is already reported to our development team through change request and since the Clocking Wizard is not allowing the user to modify the port name, having port renaming tab is of no use. So it is decided to remove this tab (when using Clocking wizard in IPI) in Clocking WIzard (5.2) which will be incorporated in Vivado 2015.3. You can only see this tab when you are not using IPI.

Regards,
Ashish
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Explorer
Explorer
8,922 Views
Registered: ‎12-06-2013

@ashishd

 

This would still be a nice feature, so close, why not just make it work? With the amount of time Xilinx has put into making block diagrams like actual schematics I would think that fixing this would be the only diligent solution.

 

Regards,

 

-JK

0 Kudos
Reply
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,912 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Hi @jeff_king

This is by design. In a normal IP the user has to write HDL. In the IPI flow the tool generates the HDL for the user and the port names mean something to IPI and hence the user is not allowed to change them.

 

This is the reason behing disabling this in the latest version.

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Reply
Teacher
Teacher
8,893 Views
Registered: ‎03-31-2012
>> With the amount of time Xilinx has put into making block diagrams like actual schematics I would think that fixing this would be the only diligent solution

in a schematic system, one can name the nets but the port names are usually fixed unless one changes the symbol. I guess Xilinx is saying that the user doesn't get to edit the symbol of the clock wizard.
- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
0 Kudos
Reply
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,826 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Hi @jeff_king

 

Did that answer your query? If yes, please close the thread by marking the solution in the interest of other users.

 

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Reply
Explorer
Explorer
16,162 Views
Registered: ‎12-06-2013

The effort to fix this would be minimal but yes, this query has been adequately addressed. Thanks all!

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply