cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Voyager
Voyager
3,658 Views
Registered: ‎06-26-2015

vivado 2017.2 ignore unused pin

is there way to tell vivado not to give error for unused pins?  or tell it to ignore it.

0 Kudos
Reply
7 Replies
Voyager
Voyager
3,625 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2013

Hey @s002wjhw,

 

I don't remember Vivado ever complaining about unused pins.

Maybe give an example for the Warning or Error you are seeing?

 

Best,

Herbert

-------------- Yes, I do this for fun!
0 Kudos
Reply
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,596 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

I believe Vivado do not to give error for unused pins. Please refer below answer records for more details

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/62560.html

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/68114.html

________________________________________________

Please mark this post as an "Accept as solution" in case if it helped to resolve your query. So that it will help to other forum users to directly refer to the answer.

Give kudos to this post in case if you think the information is useful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
Reply
Voyager
Voyager
3,565 Views
Registered: ‎06-26-2015

well I receive these errors, and looking at XDC constraint, these pins is not assigned anywhere.

 

pin.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
Voyager
Voyager
3,563 Views
Registered: ‎06-26-2015

also I run this in 2014.4, and it compile fine, I didn't upgrade all the IP when running in 2017.2 ( MIG core)
0 Kudos
Reply
Voyager
Voyager
3,555 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2013

@s002wjhw

 

The image shows 32 unplaced terminals.

Vivado is trying to place the listed output ports (AMX_*, FMC*) on pins which conform to the specified LVCMOS18 I/O standard and group, but at this point, there are none left.

 

Hope this helps,

Herbert

-------------- Yes, I do this for fun!
0 Kudos
Reply
Voyager
Voyager
3,547 Views
Registered: ‎06-26-2015

yes but this doesn't explain why the same project run flawless on 2014.4 but not on 2017.2 the only thing I did was upgrade the ip, all constraint are same. these pins are MGT pairs.
0 Kudos
Reply
Voyager
Voyager
3,545 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2013

@s002wjhw  ... the only thing I did was upgrade the ip ...

 

Well, the IP is a huge part with many, many files, some of them will affect the synthesis (mostly the HDL), some of them will contain constraints and that is where I would start to look.

I.e. compare the IP related constraints before the upgrade with the ones from after the upgrade.

 

Hope this helps,

Herbert

-------------- Yes, I do this for fun!
0 Kudos
Reply