cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mmonforte
Adventurer
Adventurer
18,178 Views
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

new partition command gray in context menu

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Since my design is getting bigger, and implementation time is about 2 hours, I've decided to use partitions.

 

QUESTION 1:

 

The problem is, the "new partition" command in the context menu is gray, i cannot click it. What are the reasons for

which this may possibly happen? I tried the same on a different design and it worked there, so it is not machine dependant..

Any ideas? Getting crazy... It is a mixed design, with Verilog and VHDL files, no schematics, no netlist, no microblaze, just hdl.

 

I have Xilinx ISE 11.3

 

QUESTION 2:

 

I have custom logic on an ISE project, and a Microblaze on a differente XPS project. I have not put them together yet

(one thing at once...), because I haven't decided yet if:

A. using my logic as a custom peripheral of the XPS project

B. import the microblaze into ISE, and write a structural top level entity, making connections by hand.

 

The approach A is much quicker, and easier at long term, since with method B I should change the top anytime i modify the system

(e.g. add a peripheral, rename a few signals, etc..)

But the question is

Can I use partitions with method A?

 

 

Thanks for your time and help,

 

Michele

 

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mmonforte
Adventurer
Adventurer
25,864 Views
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Webcase support notified me that partitions are not supported for Virtex6 and Spartan6, until release of ISE 12.1

 

 

Hope might help someone else...

 

Michele

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
mmonforte
Adventurer
Adventurer
18,175 Views
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Answer to QUESTION 1:

 

New Partition is not enabled for any Spartan 6 or Virtex 6. May be a license problem? It looks weird to me, since for basic devices

(small Spartan 6 or small Virtex 6) which are part of the webpack, it does NOT work either...

 

 

 

0 Kudos
mmonforte
Adventurer
Adventurer
18,174 Views
Registered: ‎11-25-2009
(instead for Virtex5 or Spartan5 it does)
0 Kudos
mmonforte
Adventurer
Adventurer
18,162 Views
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

btw I installed the correct license, and still have the same problem. It really looks like a Bug on Spartan6 and Virtex6 devices, whose support is evidently

still limited...

Hope somoene may correct me ;)

 

What about Question 2?

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
bassman59
Historian
Historian
18,154 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

mmonforte wrote:
(instead for Virtex5 or Spartan5 it does)

There's no such thing as Spartan5.

 

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
mmonforte
Adventurer
Adventurer
18,145 Views
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Thanks for the answer.

Virtex5 or Spartan3 ;)

0 Kudos
mmonforte
Adventurer
Adventurer
25,865 Views
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Webcase support notified me that partitions are not supported for Virtex6 and Spartan6, until release of ISE 12.1

 

 

Hope might help someone else...

 

Michele

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
katem
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
18,084 Views
Registered: ‎08-29-2007
To add a little more to this.  S6 and V6 will be supported in 12.1 in PlanAhead or using command line.  Partitions will not be supported in ProjNav in 12.1. 
0 Kudos
mmonforte
Adventurer
Adventurer
17,757 Views
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

To add a little more to this,

 

WHEN will partitions be supported in ProjNav?

 

Thank you for your feedback.

0 Kudos
katem
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
17,755 Views
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Partition support for S3, V4 and V5 is in Project Navigator from 8.2 to 11.4.   Partitions has moved to PA and command line in 12.1 and will no longer be supported in Project Navigator.

 

Kate

0 Kudos
mmonforte
Adventurer
Adventurer
11,617 Views
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Thank you Kate for the info.

Does that mean that the whole implementation flow will have to be executed on PlanAhead or command line only, if partitions are needed?

 

Michele

0 Kudos
katem
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,614 Views
Registered: ‎08-29-2007

Yes

0 Kudos