UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Power newbee questions

Voyager

Power newbee questions

I'm new to power estimating with Vivado, using 2017.1, Kintex-7.

QUESTION ONE:

This question is about how to get the Total On-Chip Power estimate to update.

Right now, my incomplete design is showing 1.493W on the Power section of the Project Summary tab.  The Confidence level is "Low".  I clicked on "Implement Power Report", then on "Launch Power Constraint Advisor".  Among the Low confidence nets, I found only 1 with fanout greater than 200 (it was 791).  Coming from a system reset button, I set the static probability to 0 and the toggle rate to 0.  I did some things I'll describe later, but the 1.493W estimate didn't change.  Among the remaining low confidence nets, I found only 7 with fanout greater than 100 (they were all 148).  Believing they were also reset related, I changed their static probability and toggle rate to 0 as well.  The 1.493W estimate still didn't change.

I would expect at least a tiny change in the estimate.  I believe it's not updating.    In the "Power" tab is a refresh icon.  After saving (OK) from the Power Constraints Advisor, I click this refresh icon.  When I do so, I get a message "The report 'Top_power_routed" is up to date.  Rerun anyway?".  This already suggests things aren't updating.  Why not?  When I click OK to rerun, the estimate remains 1.493W.  What do I need to do to make this update?

QUESTION TWO: