cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rothy18
Participant
Participant

Automate dumping/setting variables/structs using mrd and mwr with XSCT console during a debug session

Jump to solution

I am a tcl/xstc noob but I found out a semi automated process to dump a structure

xsct% print -dict -defs gra_file_struct
gra_file_struct {type t_GraFile addr 0x14ee24 size 262144 flags RW} ... and so on

Now I copy and paste the information I got from the print command to build up a corresponding mrd command

xsct% mrd -bin -file "gra_file_struct.bin" -size b 0x14ee24 262144
xsct%

Would it be possible to create a READ_gra_file_struct.tcl to automate this process

xsct% source READ_gra_file_struct.tcl 

???

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sadanan
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi @rothy18,

Here's a sample script to do what you're looking for

proc dump_var { var file_name } {

set var_dict [print -defs -dict $var]

mrd -bin -file $file_name -size b [dict get $var_dict $var addr] [dict get $var_dict $var size]

}

You can put this proc in a tcl file, source it, and then run dump_var "gra_file_struct" "gra_file_struct.bin". If you want to automate this fully, you can specify source and other commands while launching xsct

xsct -eval "source gra_file_struct.tcl; dump_var gra_file_struct gra_file_struct.bin"

View solution in original post

6 Replies
sadanan
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi @rothy18,

Here's a sample script to do what you're looking for

mrd -bin -file $file_name -size b [dict get $var_dict $var addr] [dict get $var_dict $var size]

}

You can put this proc in a tcl file, source it, and then run dump_var "gra_file_struct" "gra_file_struct.bin". If you want to automate this fully, you can specify source and other commands while launching xsct

xsct -eval "source gra_file_struct.tcl; dump_var gra_file_struct gra_file_struct.bin"

View solution in original post

rothy18
Participant
Participant

Hi @sadanan