UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,482 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2012

Cannot figure out how to create a mblaze able to run "Hello World"

Hi guys,

 

I'm using a custom board with a FPGA on it. I'd like to run a simple "Hello World" on it but I cannot even manage to do that... Unfortunately, every single tutorial I can find on microblazes are based on a demo board which does all the connections automatically for the user. Does there exist any resource out there for an unexperienced developer that would guide me from the IP integrator, all the way to running my Hello World?

 

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,466 Views
Registered: ‎04-07-2014

Re: Cannot figure out how to create a mblaze able to run "Hello World"

Hi lauziepi,



this is quite a start for an „unexperienced developer“. For „Hello World“ on a microblaze you need at least a clock source and an uart interface.



Can you tell us a little bit more about your design?

1. FPGA type

2. clock frequency and type (single ended, differential)

3. UART baud rate


Regards,

Sebastian

0 Kudos
Scholar trenz-al
Scholar
7,463 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: Cannot figure out how to create a mblaze able to run "Hello World"

there is.

 

there is one way.

 

get experience by doing...

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,459 Views
Registered: ‎04-07-2014

Re: Cannot figure out how to create a mblaze able to run "Hello World"

Hi trenz-al,

 

I was thinking the same. Perhaps he has some additional information on his board and we can give him a hint into the right direction?

 

 

0 Kudos
Scholar trenz-al
Scholar
7,421 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: Cannot figure out how to create a mblaze able to run "Hello World"

no

 

getting microblaze uart working is sooooo simple task.

 

if one can not manage that, no reason to try any further..

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,383 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2012

Re: Cannot figure out how to create a mblaze able to run "Hello World"

The clock input is a 100Mhz LVDS signal, converted to a single signal using a BUFGDS. The FPGA is programmed using JTAG, I think what I need is a JTAG-UART module to be able to debug the microblaze? Basically I know how to create the Microblaze wrapper and plug it to the top-level VHDL code, what I'm unable to do is to add and connect the right IPs properly.

 

By the way thanks for your "expert contribution" trenz-al, glad to see that title is given liberally on the forum and is not to be taken seriously.

0 Kudos
Scholar trenz-al
Scholar
7,371 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: Cannot figure out how to create a mblaze able to run "Hello World"

there is no need for all this

 

just create the BD, add MB with JTAG debug + uart

 

if clock is there, you can use fake or no reset and you get it already working in jtag uart

 

0 HDL code

1 consrtraint for clock

 

nothing more.

 

 

0 Kudos