Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LPLA
Visitor
Visitor

Console Output in SDK with hello world example

Hello,

this is my first time working with anything related to FPGA and Xilinx Tools.

Right now I am working with the ZedBoard (Zynq-7000 ZedBoard Zynq Evaluation and Development Kit).

So naturally I was trying some entry-level tutorials to get familiar with everything.

As you know there are quite a lot of tutorials online and I started with this one.

Unfortunately I do not own the 7-Segment Display so I only did the "turn on the LEDs by using the switches" part which worked just fine.

The next tutorials I wanted to do are this one,  this one and this one. 

In all three tutorials I got to the part where they run the "hello world" example but I never actually get the output on the console.

Trying some of the solutions I found like Help-Not-able-to-view-program-Output-on-the-SDK-Console or Vivado-2014-1-Hello-World or No-quot-Hello-World-quot-message-in-Terminal and some others didn't help.

I try to give as much information as possible and hope that someone can help me fix this:

Hardware

I am using the ZedBoard (Zynq-7000 ZedBoard Zynq Evaluation and Development Kit)

It is connected to my PC via USB (J14 UART and J17 JTAG)

Software

System is Scientific Linux 7.6 (Nitrogen)

Vivado v2017.2_sdx (64-bit) including SDSoc

Xilinx SDx v2017.2 (64-bit)

jtgcfg

$ djtgcfg enum
Found 1 device(s)

Device: Zed
Product Name: Digilent Zed
User Name: Zed
Serial Number: 210******742 (don't know if it's important to censor this)

$ djtgcfg init -d Zed
Initializing scan chain...
Found Device ID: 23727093
Found Device ID: 4ba00477

Found 2 device(s):
Device 0: ARM_DAP
Device 1: XC7Z020

In most of the tutorials they use Tera Term but I do not have it installed (but I do have PuTTY).

I tried connecting to the ZedBoard with Putty by using the IP and Port that the SDx showed me in the SDx Log which said: "connect -url tcp:127.0.0.1:3121"