Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor
Visitor

Custom IP, Interrupts, and Xilkernel

Jump to solution

Hi,

I'm new to Xilkernel, and I am having difficulty connecting an interrupt generated by my custom IP core to an interrupt handler.  In particular, I don't know what value to use for an interrupt ID, which is the first argument to register_int_handler(...).

I have Xilkernel running okay, using the example in ML403_PPC_XMK_10_1.zip, from the Xilinx web site.  I am trying to add custom IP to the FPGA that will issue an interrupt to software.  Starting from that project, I use the "Create or Import Peripheral" wizard to create a custom peripheral, following the example shown in Chapter 5 of the "EDK Concepts, Tools, and Techniques" paper, also from Xilinx.

Next, in the System Assembly View, in the Port tab, I expand the "test_ip" peripheral, and in the "Net" column I ask for a new connection, and then accept the default name.

Next I generate the netlist, launch SDK,and select Xilinx Tools->Generate Libraries and BSPs.

When I have done that, my xparameters.h file has entries for the the newly created test_ip, but I cannot find anything in there regarding an interrupt ID.

How do I discover the interrupt ID for my custom IP, so that I can pass it to register_int_handler(...)?

Thanks ahead of time!

Regards,

Chris

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer

Re: Custom IP, Interrupts, and Xilkernel

Jump to solution

In the System Assembly View ->Ports tab

1. Expand your peripheral and look for a port called IP2INTC_Irpt

If there is no connection here then click and assign a connection (I hope you know how to do that)

2. Then expand your interrupt controller (in the same view)

Double click on the Intr connection and assign your Interrupt signal (created in step 1)

Regenerate the bitstream and the libraries.

BR

Message Edited by benradu on 04-03-2009 08:39 AM