cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
anton_x
Adventurer
Adventurer
753 Views
Registered: ‎07-24-2020

Custom zcu106 platform

Jump to solution

Hi, 

I have one question.
I need zcu106 base platform.
Since Xilinx doesn't provide predefined xsa ( base platform zcu106), 
I decided to create one using this guide: 
https://github.com/Xilinx/Vitis-Tutorials/blob/master/Vitis_Platform_Creation/Introduction/02-Edge-AI-ZCU104/README.md.
I managed to create xsa, but I also want to use QEMU flow, therefore I need the software part as well.
I moved forward to create it using petalinux but I get an issue that I couldn't resolve.
Can you help or suggest something?
You can see the error in the screenshot.

Best regards,
Anton

Screenshot from 2021-07-19 17-33-17.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
florentw
Moderator
Moderator
673 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @anton_x 

Note that you can download the ZCU106 BSP from the following link:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/download/index.html/content/xilinx/en/downloadNav/embedded-design-tools.html

So you can start from petalinux using it. This would be a good way to start to see if the issue is coming from the XSA.

It might most likely be that there is a library missing on your host mahcine


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

9 Replies
florentw
Moderator
Moderator
674 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @anton_x 

Note that you can download the ZCU106 BSP from the following link:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/download/index.html/content/xilinx/en/downloadNav/embedded-design-tools.html

So you can start from petalinux using it. This would be a good way to start to see if the issue is coming from the XSA.

It might most likely be that there is a library missing on your host mahcine


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

stephenm
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
656 Views
Registered: ‎09-12-2007

as @florentw said, the easiest way to proceeed here (if you have Xilinx board) is to use the BSP for this board to create a Linux image:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/download/index.html/content/xilinx/en/downloadNav/embedded-design-tools.html

However, if you want to see what happened with your custom XSA, then have a look at the config.log after you run the petalinux-config --get-hw-description commandconfig_log.PNG

anton_x
Adventurer
Adventurer
630 Views
Registered: ‎07-24-2020

Hi dear @florentw ,

Thank you for your response.
Actually, I have just resolved this part, the problem is that I
moved petalinux from where I have installed it the first time, so this issue
now is fixed when I reinstalled the petalinux, I have got the new issue in
device tree when trying to create software part.

My goal is to create zcu106 base platform as you understand, but I want to create
it like zcu104 (xilinx_zcu104_base_202020_1 that contains xilinx_zcu104_base_202020_1.spfm,
xilinx_zcu104_base_202020_1.xsa, boot, qemu, xrt) I wonder is it possible to fully implement zcu106
with bsp and petalinux flow like that?

Best regards,
Anton.

0 Kudos
anton_x
Adventurer
Adventurer
627 Views
Registered: ‎07-24-2020

Hi dear @stephenm ,

Thank you for your response,
Yes I have the real board, but I want to create
The base platform zcu106 for hardware and software.
(Like zcu104 has and I can download it).

Best regards,
Anton

0 Kudos
florentw
Moderator
Moderator
615 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @anton_x 

No to create the base platform you would still need to go to Vitis.

Also I am not sure the XSA in the BSP is an extensible platform so might no work for what you want.

 But this was more to test if the issue was coming from the XSA for your initial issue


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
stephenm
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
611 Views
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
anton_x
Adventurer
Adventurer
598 Views
Registered: ‎07-24-2020

Hi dear @florentw ,

I am now working on Vitis flow, trying to get what I want.
Everything is going well, I am almost finished creation only
I need to specify the bif file, but I can't find it, can you suggest how
can I create it or how to get the zcu106 bif file?

Best regards,
Anton

0 Kudos
florentw
Moderator
Moderator
573 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @anton_x 

If you do not the default then you can create a bif file with a text editor. You can just use the same content as the tutorial


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
anton_x
Adventurer
Adventurer
562 Views
Registered: ‎07-24-2020

Hi @florentw,

I have just created that file using text editor and it worked,
now I have the new exported platform, only it is a little different
from base 104 platform structure.
I will manage it manually and that will be what I wanted.
Thanks!!

With best regards,
Anton