cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
leoc
Visitor
Visitor

DTE and DCE on Spartan 3E and Microblaze Question.

Hello all, hopefully this is in the right for this time, delete this post if it is not.

I'd like to start off saying that I am far from being an expert with FPGA development, in fact I am just a beginner. What I do know is that it is possible to use the DCE and DTE ports using ip cores from microblaze on the Spartan 3E. I was wondering what it would take to get them both working at the same time. When I say working, I mean sending and receiving at the same time (not in a concurrent sense).

The situation that I am working on without going into too much detail is as follows. I have 3 components, a PC GUI, the FPGA (Spartan 3E) and sensors connected to a microcontroller. The GUI is connected to the FPGA via RS232 cable and the DCE port of the FPGA. The FPGA is connected to the microcontroller via RS232 wireless communication and the DTE port. Now microcontroller is supposed receive serial data sent from the FPGA and it is supposed to send flags to the FPGA based on sensors triggering. These flags are then sent from the FPGA to the GUI and something on the GUI gets triggered. The GUI is also supposed to send data serially (not the flags) to the FPGA and receive those flags from the microcontrollers. So essentially the GUI is supposed to communicate with the microcontroller through the FPGA. Why doesn't the GUI communicate with the microcontroller directly you ask? Another part of the project requires the FPGA to do something unrelated to this because as of right now they are seperate entities. However, to test whether the flags were triggering correctly, I set up the microcontroller and the GUI together (wirelessly) and they work as expected.