UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Error:Xst:2035:Port <fpga_0_clk_1_sys_clk_pin> has illegal connections. This port is connected to an input buffer and other components.

Hello,

I am trying to use a custom IP block interfaced with microblaze. I haven't made any connections except that the fpga_0_clk_1_sys_clk_pin which is the system clock pin is being fed to the clock input (clk_S) of the clock generator. Now, i am new to this and especially with XPS 13.1. It seems that XST adds IO buffers to the external pins and in this case it is not needed.  So,

1. How to disable adding of IO buffers in XPS 13.1 (earlier forum threads mention to disable it in ISE but in XPS 13.1, ISE isn't invoked when working with XPS)

2. Do i need to remove the clock generator? Can i feed the system clock to the microblaze, custom IP and other peripherals using PLB slave as interface?

I need to know how is it supposed to be done while configuring a system with custom IP block. Is there a better documentation available other than edk_ctt? If so, please let me know

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
2 Replies

Re: Error:Xst:2035:Port <fpga_0_clk_1_sys_clk_pin> has illegal connections. This port is connected to an input buffer and other components.

BTW, the FPGA i am trying to interface is a Digilent Nexys2 board and i am using Windows version of 13.1 Design Suite

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer

Re: Error:Xst:2035:Port <fpga_0_clk_1_sys_clk_pin> has illegal connections. This port is connected to an input buffer and other components.