UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer cpandya90
Observer
3,799 Views
Registered: ‎05-12-2017

How to add larger amount of Block Ram in Design

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

I am developing a design that transfers a block of data from block ram to ddr using Central DMA. For this I want to add larger amount of block ram. I am able to add 512k of block ram. I can't add more than 512k of block ram. In this design one port of block ram is accessible from processor and other port is accessible from Central DMA block using two bram controllers. Part of my design is shown in given below figure.

Capture.PNG.

Can anybody have an idea how to add more than 512k of block ram and connect with processor and CDMA block?

 

Thanks

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Scholar u4223374
Scholar
6,522 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

Re: How to add larger amount of Block Ram in Design

Jump to solution

The 7020 has 140 36K block RAMs, although in 8-bit/16-bit/32-bit mode their capacity is reduced to 32KB each. Absolute maximum block RAM is therefore 560KB (in those modes).

7 Replies
Voyager
Voyager
3,793 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2013

Re: How to add larger amount of Block Ram in Design

Jump to solution

Hey @cpandya90,

 

The amount of available BRAM in an FPGA differs from device to device.

So the first question here is: what device are you designing for?

The second question is: how much memory can your processor handle?

 

Best,

Herbert

-------------- Yes, I do this for fun!
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer cpandya90
Observer
3,783 Views
Registered: ‎05-12-2017

Re: How to add larger amount of Block Ram in Design

Jump to solution

Thanks @hpoetzl

 

I am doing this design for Zynq-7000 (xc7z020clg484-1).

I am not sure about how much memory processor can handle?

Can you tell me how can I find out this?

 

0 Kudos
Scholar u4223374
Scholar
6,523 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

Re: How to add larger amount of Block Ram in Design

Jump to solution

The 7020 has 140 36K block RAMs, although in 8-bit/16-bit/32-bit mode their capacity is reduced to 32KB each. Absolute maximum block RAM is therefore 560KB (in those modes).

Voyager
Voyager
3,776 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2013

Re: How to add larger amount of Block Ram in Design

Jump to solution

Hey @cpandya90,

 

And for the processor part, it depends on what processor you want to use, but most likely it will be able to handle more memory than available in BRAM resources, which are your primary limitation on this FPGA.

 

Hope this helps,

Herbert

-------------- Yes, I do this for fun!
0 Kudos
Scholar hbucher
Scholar
3,751 Views
Registered: ‎03-22-2016

Re: How to add larger amount of Block Ram in Design

Jump to solution

@cpandya90 Perhaps  I misunderstood but perhaps your question is how to configure the BRAM blocks to have more memory. 

This is done in the Address Editor - see "Range".

vitorian.com --- We do this for fun. Always give kudos. Accept as solution if your question was answered.
I will not answer to personal messages - use the forums instead.
bram.png
Observer cpandya90
Observer
3,722 Views
Registered: ‎05-12-2017

Re: How to add larger amount of Block Ram in Design

Jump to solution
I tried above mentioned process and I used from 1k to 512k of block ram in my design. After 512k of bram I am not able to validate design with 1M of bram.
Voyager
Voyager
3,719 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2013

Re: How to add larger amount of Block Ram in Design

Jump to solution

Hey @cpandya90,

 

After 512k of bram I am not able to validate design with 1M of bram.

Well, that was not completely unexpected, after @u4223374 calculated that you only have 560k of BRAM in your FPGA.

 

Best,

Herbert

-------------- Yes, I do this for fun!
0 Kudos