cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable
6,973 Views

MicroBlaze MCS simulation with ISim?

Hi,

 

 I created MicroBlaze MCS core with coregen and created elf file using SDK. The source code of the C program controls GPO lines and is the copied from a tutorial I found from websearch. It is on page 11.

http://ece.wpi.edu/~rjduck/Microblaze%20MCS%20Tutorial.pdf

 

 Then I ran the tcl script to create bram files. Then I created testbench which provide clk signal and input to GPI lines and ran behavioral simulation hoping I can see the GPO line changes. ISim ran and started simulation but the GPO signals didn't change. One thing I noticed was when ISim starts, it tries to delete all previous simulation files including bram files. So I got error message that ISim cannot load bram files. I worked around this problem by running tcl scripts again (microblaze_mcs_data2mem command) and pushing Relaunch button on ISim. But still no change on GPO lines.

Is there anyone who tried to simulate MicroBlaze MCS and the program using ISim?

 

Thanks.

 

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
6,885 Views
Registered: ‎01-26-2014

Re: MicroBlaze MCS simulation with ISim?

i have same problem ,and dont have any idea :-(
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable
6,860 Views

Re: MicroBlaze MCS simulation with ISim?

I have tested this in both Vivado, and ISE and it works for me. My flow(s) are seen in the PDF attached.

 

Note: I used my own script to generate the mem files. This script is placed in the ISE project directory

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
6,801 Views
Registered: ‎02-14-2014

Re: MicroBlaze MCS simulation with ISim?

Hello.

Sorry for bringing this old topic up, but I have exactly the same problem as leofr discribed and I cant solve it. I tried running the script and it seams that generated files are ok, but I can not add them to project as simulation sources (as discribed in pdf). Options are:

Implementation

None

 

This is what I did:

1) Created new ISE project

2) Added Microblaze MCS and configured it

3) Made a top level hdl file and instantiated the MB core in it

4) Ran synthesis, all runns smooth

5) Created new board support package for ISE my specific project

6) Created C file with code and got .elf file

7) Ran this costume script and got 4 .mem files + disassembled text

8) Added generated .mem files in ISE, but could not associate with simulation...

 

I also tried running data2mem, I got .mem files, but still I cant add them as simulation sources.

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
6,739 Views
Registered: ‎02-14-2014

Re: MicroBlaze MCS simulation with ISim?

I solved my problem!

 

 

In step 5, where I created BSP, I added wrong xml file. The file that should be added is component-name_sdk.xml but I added component -name.xml which resulted incorrect BSP and no output in Isim simulation. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
5,724 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2014

Re: MicroBlaze MCS simulation with ISim?

Hi Robert,

 

I have the same problem with not being able to set the ram files as simulation.

 

I have use the correctsdk.xml file.

 

Were you able to set the ram files as simulation or did it just work without doing that?

 

Thnaks for any help

 

Andy

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
5,449 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2014

Re: MicroBlaze MCS simulation with ISim?

Hello! The behavior simulation works well with your method, thanks!

 

Have you also tried the post place-route simulation? I have not figured out the solution to port the elf file's information to the Post Place-Route Model generated in ISE.

 

0 Kudos
Visitor
Visitor
4,139 Views
Registered: ‎05-09-2015

Re: MicroBlaze MCS simulation with ISim?

Hai stephanm would u mind explain in detailed on how to create our own script?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable
4,098 Views

Re: MicroBlaze MCS simulation with ISim?

Hey Guys,

 

I have added to the tutorial. The second section