UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Microblaze FreeRTOS and the Trace Session Manager

Hi, I'm new to Microblaze but I've used FreeRTOS on a number of occasions. One of the benefits of the RTOS is the ablility to hook into the event tracing capability of the host IDE. I've looked at a number of sources on assessing performance with the Xilinx SDK and FreeRTOS and they state that I should be able to see the debugger connection in the "Trace Session Manager" (TSM) window of SDK. I've enabled tracing in the BSP but I see nothing in the TSM window. Does anyone have any practical experience of profiling/tracing a FreeRTOS application on a Microblaze to the point of assessing context switching and execution times (not performance)? In the past I've used Timedoctor (sourceForge.net/projects/timedoctor) to tap into the FreeRTOS trace support but I'd prefer to use something that's native to Xilinx/SDK.

Thanks in advance - Dave

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: Microblaze FreeRTOS and the Trace Session Manager

Thanks Sadanan, I'll give this example a try.

Regards, Dave

0 Kudos

Hi Sadanan,

I followed the article to the letter and I did see "System Debugger using Debug_freertos.elf on local" in the Trace Session Manager window - before the window was blank. Unfortunately I couldn't start the trace process off as the "play" button and the context menu were both greyed out. I did see somwhere that GDB needs to be used for this to work correctly but when I used GDB I saw the same behaviour.