cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DEJ
Visitor
Visitor

PetaLinus 2019.2 device-tree failed to build for MicroZed platform possibly due to interrupt structure

I am very new to Vivado, Vitis, and PetaLinux, but have managed to design embedded user code for the Zynq 7Z020 PS that communicates directly to the PL on a MicroZed platform.  There are only a few items of note:

1. I am using the 2019.2 revisions of Vivado (Windows 10), Vitis (Windows 10), and Petalinux (Ubuntu).
  2. Embedded user code and custom PL boot from a FAT32 partition on a microSD card and read/write data files on an exFAT partition on the same microSD card.
  3. Embedded user code accesses custom PL via AXI interface and accesses the ARM processor's interrupt system, both courtesy of Vitis.

I depended heavily on Vivado and Vitis automation to achieve the above, and now am depending heavily on PetaLinux automation to achieve the following on the MicroZed platform:

A.  I want to boot embedded Linux and custom PL from a FAT32 partition on a microSD, while having an ext4 partition for the user code's reading/writing data files.

B.  User code is no longer embedded, but rather installed on the Linux operating system and accessing custom PL and ARM processor's interrupt system via Linux drivers, which I assume will require modifications to the originally embedded user code.

My understanding is that by working through (A), I will discover how my user code can be modified for the Linux drivers and then installed on the Linux operating system to autorun on power-up.  However, I am struggling with the PetaLinux automation getting through (A) and have pasted the resulting log file from the device tree's failed build.  Prior to executing the failed petalinux-build at the command prompt, I had executed petalinux-config, making some minor tweaks before successfully exiting the config GUI.