cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
2,861 Views
Registered: ‎11-07-2017

Printing Hello World

Hi,

 

I am new to Xilinx Sdk and is working on Zynq 7010 Board. I started with creating an application and after adding a SDK Terminal. I get a warning as shown in the picture attached.

 

I ignore the warning but then I don't see 'Hello World' Print on my Console.

  

Hello_World.png
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
2,843 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @vishav26,

 

To see the output you would need to connect the board using the uart connector and use an UART terminal. I usually use tera term for this.

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
2,801 Views
Registered: ‎11-07-2017

Thanks for the answer. What about the warning? This morning I started my program and I get an additional warning now. Also I have installed Tera term. I ignore the warning. But I don't see any output on Tera term. Both screenshots are attached. 

Processor.png
Hello_World.png
Tera_term.png
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
2,794 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @vishav26,

 

You might want to configure your zynq in vivado first before using SDK by following UG940. This will remove the warning about the wrong device.

 

And this should be the issue about why you are not seeing any output on the UART. You board is probably not using the same PS pins as the ZC702.

What is the board you are using? Is it a custom board?

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
2,787 Views
Registered: ‎11-07-2017

Hi,

 

I will follow the link you have provided it to me. 

I am using the board Z-7010 AP SoC.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
2,783 Views
Registered: ‎11-07-2017

Hi,

 

I am working on Vivado 2017.3 now and I am not sure which board I should select. The picture of the board that I am working on is attached. Thanks for your help.

Board_Select.png
zybo.jpg
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
2,771 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @vishav26,

 

You are using a ZYBO board. This board is not included into vivado by default. You need to add the board files to vivado.

 

Follow the tutorial from Digilent website to know how to install the board files.

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
2,765 Views
Registered: ‎11-07-2017

Thanks for the support.

I followed UG940 document and proceeded the same way as told. However I am getting some critical warnings. I have ignored it for now but may I know what is it? Attached is the screenshot. 

 

critical_Warnings.png
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
2,760 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @vishav26,

 

You can ignore these warnings. They are more if you were designing your own board.

As you are using a zybo, you know the DDR will be working.

 

Just a check: did you create the project with the ZYBO as target?

 

Regrads,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
2,752 Views
Registered: ‎11-07-2017

I have selected Zybo Z010 as the board. Is that what you mean by ZYBO as target?

 

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
1,694 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @vishav26,

 

Yes this is what I mean. Let me know if you can see the hello world now.

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
1,661 Views
Registered: ‎11-07-2017

Hi,

I am following UG940 and I am stuck on the following point:

The first image attached is from UG940 Tutorial. So I should get the same screen when I start my SDK.

The second image shows mySDK screen and I don't get the option of hardware platform specified by UG940. What should I do?

 

Thanks

Vishav

 

SDK_UG940.png
MySDK.png
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
1,655 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @vishav26

 

Did you launched SDK from vivado? This is important to launch it this way, because it will create the HW platform from the exported hardware (hdf).

 

If you did so, try to delete your full SDK workspace and try again to export/launch SDK from vivado.


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos