UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Reply

SDK unable to connect to microblaze (ML605)

Accepted Solution Solved
Highlighted
Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-13-2016
Accepted Solution

SDK unable to connect to microblaze (ML605)

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

I am using the following tutorials to get up and running with a basic "hello world" application using a Microblaze system on my ML605 development kit. The tutorials are written using a different (zynq-based) kit, but I have selected the ML605 instead and stuck to default options as much as possible.

 

http://www.fpgadeveloper.com/2014/02/creating-a-project-using-the-base-system-builder-2.html

http://www.fpgadeveloper.com/2014/02/create-an-application-using-the-sdk.html

 

Everything goes smoothly, including the programming the FPGA step and I get a green "init done" LED lit up.

 

When I get to the "run the software application" step, I get a message that says

 

"Unable to connect to microblaze

MicroBlaze is under RESET. Check if the Reset input to MicroBlaze and its Bus Interfaces are connected properly.

    UNABLE to STOP MicroBlaze"

 

My SDK version is: Release 14.7 Build SDK_P.20131013

 

What could cause this? I'm stumped. Thanks!


Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Posts: 1,022
Registered: ‎09-12-2007

Re: SDK unable to connect to microblaze (ML605)

The Microblaze is held in reset. Can you check the reset polarity is correct in your HW?

View solution in original post


All Replies
Moderator
Posts: 1,022
Registered: ‎09-12-2007

Re: SDK unable to connect to microblaze (ML605)

The Microblaze is held in reset. Can you check the reset polarity is correct in your HW?

Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-13-2016

Re: SDK unable to connect to microblaze (ML605)

I don't see where I would set the polarity in EDK. In fact, I don't see where I would set the pins. I assumed that it knew how to assign the pins for the ML605, but maybe that's not a good assumption. Reset polarity is not listed in this column either (see attached image).

 

Sorry if I'm being dense, I'm trying to get a feel for how to use EDK and SDK. 

 

 

Capture.PNG
Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-13-2016

Re: SDK unable to connect to microblaze (ML605)

Perhaps these warnings are relevant?

Capture.PNG
Moderator
Posts: 1,022
Registered: ‎09-12-2007

Re: SDK unable to connect to microblaze (ML605)

There should be an external reset (check external ports), that is connected to the proc_reset. Make sure that this is connected correctly.

 

If you used the BSB wizard then this should all be handled for you. Did you do this?

Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-13-2016

Re: SDK unable to connect to microblaze (ML605)

Yes, I used the BSB and I tried to choose default options as much as possible. The first time I did it, I chose a different ethernet controller than the default.

 

I just started over from scratch and removed the ethernet and PCI alltogether and I still have this problem.

 

One thing I noticed is that for board Rev. #, 'D' is the only option, whereas my board appears to be Rev.E. Could this be an issue?

Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-13-2016

Re: SDK unable to connect to microblaze (ML605)

OK, I figured out how to flip the polarity of the external reset port to active high and that appears to have solved the problem. Thanks for the help!